videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

Interpol - Evil

tagged Interpol

Charlie White's photography is fascinating -

However, as for his video for Interpol's (great song) Evil, well I'm just not sure...

www.interpolny.com


         
adambiz, December 26, 2004 at 1:13:36 PM CET

I have some issues with interpol's music videos.

so far, it's been five videos. none of them does the music any justice, except for PDA, directed by christopher mills. this one is no different.

I'm not familiar with charlie white's work, what else has he done?


         
ournameismud, December 26, 2004 at 2:08:05 PM CET

adam, i love your webpage. i like the little touches, like how the foreground is in front of the cursor.

www.wired.com www.npr.org www.pbs.org

as far as i know this is his first video. his photos hint at larger stories, and are pretty evocative little moments. but this clip seems to lack what is good (or at worst, memorable) about his stills.

and why does the puppet dance at the end? why?


         
zoomzip, December 27, 2004 at 2:32:46 AM CET

i have been a fan of charlie white's work (what little bit there is, sadly) for some time now and i have to say

that's one freaky muppet


         
joshuarule, December 27, 2004 at 7:32:09 PM CET

it bored me quite a bit...and yes the dance at the end was pretty lame.


         
artofwar, January 1, 2005 at 1:45:02 AM CET

Having worked with charlie on this video I can tell you this: You can't second guess an artist and his art. If you don't get it you just don't get it. That's all. Leno or Letterman. Who are you?


         
ai, January 1, 2005 at 10:05:53 PM CET

The video for tiger lou that had the same scheme ( accident, hospital...) was more effective IMO. Happy new year to all.


         
puddle_berry, January 3, 2005 at 5:22:35 AM CET

The video ruined the song for me a bit. They could've just had some silly light effects and Carlos D hitting on fat chicks and I'd like that better.


         
jdub, January 3, 2005 at 10:35:55 AM CET

Ok, I like Charlie White's work...but I really dislike this vid. It's not that I don't get it...I think I do. I just get really turned off by it. Perhaps there is some incredible idea that was discussed by Interpol and Charlie W. that will somehow enlighten me. But I don't think it matters at this point. In my view, This vid has two things going for it: The first ten seconds of the video where I was excited to see something that looked potentially awesome...and the very lifelike puppet/human head animation. But unfortunately, nothing else happens...at all...I feel the puppet concept was wasted. It has sort of ruined the song for me as well. I think Charlie White has the potential to turn out some great filmmaking but this isn't it.


         
najork, January 5, 2005 at 2:27:25 AM CET

I totally like this video, especially after being bored by the last 2. Makes me like the song more if anything.

Of course the puppet is not totally lifelike. That is the point of having a puppet. Being worked on by doctors makes me feel not unlike an awkward pile of plastic and parts. I also assume the dance is ment to seem desparate and flailing.


         
deluxehorror, January 8, 2005 at 11:49:36 AM CET

Hahaha... looks like i'm the only one who likes the video. No I really mean it. The muppet has something creepy, especially at the end of the video where he starts to dance. Even I don't know what the meaning of that dance is, but I like it. Really fits the music too.


         
sjatrow, January 25, 2005 at 3:40:31 PM CET

I have to say, I absolutely love this video. I recall seeing it on television in the early hours of the morning when i was quite drunk and stoned. It was amazing! My eyes were fixed. It left a haunting yet excitable feeling. Superb. I have since then searched the world wide web to find somewhere that plays this video without stopping every 2 seconds while it's 'buffering'. I have absolutely fell in love with this song and if anything, the video added to it. It sends shivers down my spine and had it not have been for this amazing piece of art work, it may never have caught my attention. Possibly the best video there's going to be this year. I hope they keep up the good work.


         
interzoogy, February 8, 2005 at 2:18:09 AM CET

sjatrow couldn't have put it any better; this video was awe-inspiring. I can't imagine any other video put to this song than what it is: a sad, ignored, melancholy puppet of a man - barely alive after his loss of Rosemary ("...heaven restores you in life..."). His whole existence seems helpless and awkward as he's shuffled from one place to another, to finally be left alone in the operating room. I love the "weird dance" that everyone seems to have a problem with; his expression turns from sadness and confusion to frustration as he flails helplessly and gracelessly, to then sit and slunk over in despair as the lights fade out. This is by far one of the best music videos I've seen; my hat goes off to Charlie White and his superb ability to create a visual mood for a great song.


         
langdonallger, February 8, 2005 at 4:31:03 AM CET

Here you go, mr. sjatrow.

www.boardsmag.com

I still don't get this video, meh.


         
sjatrow, February 10, 2005 at 5:02:40 PM CET

it's Miss sjatrow, thanks matey!


         
i roller, April 1, 2005 at 11:16:04 AM CEST

horrible. horrible. horrible. does the song no justice at all. predictable and boring. manages to send me into a slight rage of frustration because i really like the song. booooooooo.

best video you've ever seen? sheeeez...so how long were you comatose for?

and oh yes...you up there...drunk and stoned...hmmmmmmmmmn?

hey guys, if you rub your eyes really really hard you see stars!!!! wooooah...

ok i'll stop.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18
Director: Flipevil robodrug; 00:14
Unbilled guest stars —... robodrug; 21:42
Coke Ad robodrug; 21:21
Wunderbar, danke! darjalena; 18:58
I didn’t realize how... kevathens; 21:22
Things like this made... kevathens; 21:20
A ‘deepfake’ AI thing kevathens; 22:26
www.instagram.com this also kevathens; 22:59
My super-fave kevathens; 21:31
Their stuff is super-#hot kevathens; 21:30

April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
March