videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

Mat Kirkby's "Oh My Gosh" video for Basement Jaxx

"Oh My Gosh" - Basement Jaxx vid directed by Mat Kirkby

www.xlrecordings.com

Super


         
swish, March 1, 2005 at 2:00:22 PM CET

this is great! thanks for posting it!


         
mgp, March 1, 2005 at 2:20:40 PM CET

Oh think nothing of it Swish. And thank you for calling me a "bitter twat" (previous post).

Joke.

But you will admit this video is well above average and the Japanese zombie girl video was not. Certainly this site fosters anonymous bitching at its least constructive but it's very useful nonetheless to see new videos from new AND established directors and the expectations and standards some people have for promos.

I'd like to hear people more constructive and I think Lusk was v particular about his criticism in the previous post which is a good thing. Too many people just login, say "that sucks" and log off. What's the point in that? These posts are for discussions.

Might it also be nice to feel a bit of networking developing, finding out if anyone's filming in a particular location and needs assistance or advice? Does anyone think this is a good idea?


         
langdonallger, March 1, 2005 at 6:15:17 PM CET

I think it's a good idea, but I really don't know anything about filmmaking, I just like music videos.

This one I think was pretty great, humorous performances that never go too over the top, thankfully. The track sounded like like an nsync song or something though. Oh well.


         
ai, March 1, 2005 at 7:03:12 PM CET

@mgp Sure it would be great but a true forum is more what is needed for that. And remember that not everyone is in the uk. I subscribed to the "shooting people" mailing list for a while but i canceled it because it was kind of depressing to see only all these nobudget productions asking for unpaid help. [edit] And yes the vid is nice and fun but i didn't laugh tough. I'm not too fond of the extra screen ratio (i guess it's a reference to west side story or something like that) I always prefer when people keep the image ratio as it was shot and I have the feeling they put the bars here. Dr Lusk wdt?


         
lusk81, March 1, 2005 at 7:32:49 PM CET

MGP: Great kirkby promo. Really fun.

As far as networking for assistance, in my experience that's always been kinda hard. You know, finding a website or some kind of outlet and saying I'm down for whatever always tends to be problematic. It's always best to just try and contact guys you respect and admire and see where that takes you. Or, just try and do really great work and hope that like minded individuals will approach you with inquiries, assistance, etc.

AI: I know Binky throws constant fire my way, but I'm sure he can agree with me that there's a number of really great jobs coming through post houses with zero dollars attached. I know Stylewar has been all over NYC recently getting help from everyone on a small short film they're working on. Try and link with a company (freelance/staff/etc) that you think is dope and it's amazing to see how many people you'll meet that will just work on something pro bono. In a weird kinda way, everyone wants to be involved in a cool piece, regardless of pay.

I also have no idea what the bars are for. It could've just been the compression. I don't know. Ask Kirkby. Call RSA and inquire --
LA: 310.659.1577 NY: 212.343.2020 (He's with Little Minx so this number is probably better fit)


         
captainmarc22, March 1, 2005 at 7:35:36 PM CET

ugh I know I'm sort of alone here but I can't stand "old people acting young and hip" anymore than I can stand "little kids acting mature and clever" - both of these devices are so played out in commercials, TV shows, etc.; I always think it's what happens when people who aren't funny try to write comedy.

this isn't the worst take on this I've seen but within 20 seconds I knew how this would go.

Remember "Romeo"?? Now that was a fucking video.


         
binkystick, March 1, 2005 at 8:19:54 PM CET

Hey Lusk, why you gotta single me out, buddy? I'm not the only one who's replied angrily to your in-depth remarks. Besides, I've agreed with you a lot lately, including today.

And for the record, I really liked this video.


         
stripedcollar, March 2, 2005 at 12:12:42 AM CET

Yeah, captainmarc, I think you are alone on this one. I think this video is really good. And I liked the thin aspect ratio. It kept the video unique.

Speaking of wide aspect ratios, has anybody seen the video for Mum's Summer Make Good for All Our Sins? It's amazing. If anybody knows a link for it, can you post it? Thanks.


         
leixion, March 2, 2005 at 6:20:42 PM CET

one word, shit


         
replay, March 2, 2005 at 8:33:02 PM CET

yep, all seems aload of bollocks to me, whatever happened to artistic talent?


         
ai, March 3, 2005 at 1:55:58 AM CET

leixlon=replay (?) there's some kind of VJ attack here.


         
leixion, March 3, 2005 at 11:17:22 AM CET

no different people but we do know each other


         
mkirkby, May 11, 2005 at 11:56:53 AM CEST

The thin aspect ratio on 'Oh My Gosh' is from the 16mm anamorphic lenses I used. There was no black added top and bottom, what you're seeing is the whole negative. You get nice lens flares from them but they are a bit fucking wide.


         
pablokorona, December 10, 2005 at 11:38:51 PM CET

i just wish there were a quicktime of this.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18
Director: Flipevil robodrug; 00:14
Unbilled guest stars —... robodrug; 21:42
Coke Ad robodrug; 21:21
Wunderbar, danke! darjalena; 18:58
I didn’t realize how... kevathens; 21:22
Things like this made... kevathens; 21:20
A ‘deepfake’ AI thing kevathens; 22:26
www.instagram.com this also kevathens; 22:59
My super-fave kevathens; 21:31

April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
March