videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

Videoville.org is open

Videoville.org is now open for business. Enjoy!


         
lusk81, January 24, 2006 at 5:23:07 AM CET

A+ Kev. I've already started helping you fill in some of the blank pages. This is going to be an excellent resourse. Awesome my friend.


         
captainmarc22, January 24, 2006 at 5:35:05 AM CET

I concur. Great stuff. Can we get the Antville programmers to add a link to videoville at the top or on the right side?


         
elliot elliot, January 24, 2006 at 6:15:30 AM CET

good stuff...thank you!


         
progosk, January 24, 2006 at 9:14:57 AM CET

it's been fun setting it up, but it's amazing to watch it snowball so quickly. oh, and: stay tuned - couple more tricks up various sleeves...


         
kevathens, January 24, 2006 at 1:07:15 PM CET

Kris said he'll add a link to it from here today. He's also working on some special stuff too (besides the shorts blog).


         
jdub, January 24, 2006 at 7:26:27 PM CET

It's brilliant! Can't believe you guys got it up so quickly. Seriously, I'm impressed. Kev, Progrosk, Kris - Thanks for putting the time and effort in to make this happen.


         
mvstills, January 24, 2006 at 7:29:23 PM CET

Well well Kevin, that was faster than what I thought. I forget, where exactly do you want to go with this? I'm still a bit fuzzy on the subject after all we disscused. And what exactly do you want from us?


         
kevathens, January 24, 2006 at 7:49:14 PM CET

Truth is the whole thing's an experiment. The prime focus was creating a resource for the Antville community, not a general encyclopedia of music video. I think the WikiProject can be a good compendium for mv info, while Videoville can at least have a bit more personality, with features that don't fit with the idea of WikiPedia (Antvilleans?).

I personally don't want anything from anybody. If people find it useful, that's great. If certain sections dry up, okay. I hope it does become something really cool, though. Somehow we gotta figure out how to centralize the online mv community.. This is one more step towards that.

In the end I'd like to keep the conversation going as to what the online mv (or antville) community needs, and see if I can lend a hand somewhere. Really, I don't make music videos, but hey I can make websites. So there ya go.


         
kevathens, January 24, 2006 at 7:54:05 PM CET

If anybody has any more Videoville critiques or ideas about how we can create a better habitat for ourselves, let me know.


         
kevathens, January 24, 2006 at 8:11:52 PM CET

Another example: I just worked on a Partizan page. Where else can you get an updated, complete Partizan roster? (Though I don't think that's complete, someone's gonna have to help me on that)

Maybe someday production companies will come in and update their own rosters. Sometimes even your own site takes a while to be updated. This is instant and really easy.


         
kris, January 24, 2006 at 9:36:12 PM CET

About the shorts blog: I contacted some friends who do Antville hosting and they are willing to host it for free. Let me know who wants to be responsible. I can make the initial setup, but I don't want to administrate the site.


         
kevathens, January 24, 2006 at 9:38:27 PM CET

Shorts aren't my forté so I'll sit this one out.


         
lusk81, January 24, 2006 at 9:46:14 PM CET

Kev: I just hit you up via email but maybe we can open this discussion to the community as a whole.

I spent last night/this morn setting up and filling the production and post production sections. I'm wondering, especially in regards to post, if there should be sections - meaning: should we subsection the post production into categories; editorial, vfx, motion graphics, telecine, sound, etc etc etc.

I think this may be helpful for those working on projects of any kind to pinpoint exactly what they're looking for. Agree/disagree?

Also, am I the only one who finds it a little weird to have a seperate CREATIVE section? What I fear is something like the ANIMATORS slot to be filled to the brim with student reels. Most quality 'creatives' will be affiliated with a house or agency of some kind to begin with and this section may be a little tangential...

The stylists/choreo add is really nice though, even if said talent is linked with people like Vernon Jolly, Loox, Cloutier, etc.

I love what you did with the Partizan page. Should we use that as a template as well?

Also, is it crazy to suggest doing a press release once this thing is totally on its feet? I'm sure Res (among others) would give it a shout.

Great great stuff.


         
progosk, January 24, 2006 at 10:03:02 PM CET

basically, lusk: whatever you think works. you see, it's a strange thing to get used to but: if it doesn't work/fit/feel right, someone will come and change it. think of it as evolutionary content editing. (or don't if that just sounds poncey.)

don't fear: if students start to flood the animators section, you can count on it that enough other contributors will see to it that they get neatly subsectioned (at the least) - you see, with a collaborative thing like this, the truth will out. why? various reasons, but one's fundamental: because it's so easy for anyone to step in & edit. sounds strange, but: trust the power of the wiki.

so: discussion of ideas for videoville here on antville - great. but the real litmus test? just do it - and see if it holds up. (oh, also: don't forget: there's a discussion pane right behind every videoville page..)


         
progosk, January 24, 2006 at 10:05:32 PM CET

just one thing i'd add for videoville contributors (and that means: each&all): wherever, whenever possible/relevant, i think it'd be cool to add links to all relevant antville posts (without overdoing the concept of "relevance" though, y'hear?).


         
kevathens, January 24, 2006 at 10:27:17 PM CET

To answer lusk's Q's:

  1. Subsections sound relevant, either inside the 'post' page or as an extension.

  2. I wrote back about the difference between 'Animators' (as in directors who animate) and 'Post_Production:Animators'. Is there one? For laypeople like myself who know very little about what goes on in post houses, that's what works for me.

  3. Give me some time over the weekend and I can concoct a press release. I've already notified some areas though.


         
progosk, January 24, 2006 at 10:33:27 PM CET

kris - ah, there's the link! (can you make it any smaller... ;-P ) seriously, though: at least its own little box.... also: why capitalize? vids.ant ain't either...


         
progosk, January 25, 2006 at 2:27:41 AM CET

wassup kev? server-ache? reacts like molasses...


         
kevathens, January 25, 2006 at 3:43:06 AM CET

If it keeps up I'll be lookin' for another place to host it. (Then again, antville clogs every day around 2-4am GMT)


         
benroll, January 25, 2006 at 11:52:21 AM CET

Nice one guys. Looks great and I'm sure it'll quickly grow into a great resource. Just been getting my head round adding some stuff. I'd mention aswell though, it's slooooooooow.


         
benroll, January 25, 2006 at 12:19:11 PM CET

Love the treatments bit too. That's going to be interesting


         
kris, January 25, 2006 at 5:46:23 PM CET

easy, progosk. that's just a quick hack. proper link will follow.


         
progosk, January 25, 2006 at 11:35:02 PM CET

kev! pleez do something - the thing is slower than a pleix puppy! don't kill the momentum...


         
kevathens, January 25, 2006 at 11:39:22 PM CET

Ack, I see. I'm gonna give my host a call and do some research/asking around tonight as well.

Since the open it's been only the MySQL server that's been fritzy, but it's affecting my regular site now too, so it's more serious than that.

Hopefully it's just a temporary thing, but perhaps those are famous last words??

Last night 8:39pm EST they wrote: "DSL service was affected by virus activity this evening. The spurious traffic caused packet loss and other symptoms for some DSL customers and additional latency across our entire network. Technicians have identified the origin and have stopped the attack."

It's affecting my mail too. It'd be a shame to move, since I've used them for 8 years with infrequent problems. But this kind of project requires a server to be up 99.9999% of the time, so this will put their feet to the fire.


         
kevathens, January 26, 2006 at 12:09:23 AM CET

Okay, it seems to be reacting a bit better now (my e-mail's going well too now). I called them and they'll e-mail me any answers they can fish up, will let you know.

Still, help me keep track of the outages as I research other hosts.


         
progosk, January 26, 2006 at 12:15:02 AM CET

still dead slow at this end...


         
kevathens, January 26, 2006 at 12:17:26 AM CET

yep it's being fritzy again. They might be working on it. Thanks for your patience, I'll keep track of it tonight.


         
kevathens, January 26, 2006 at 12:25:48 AM CET

Was there any interest for anyone to administer the shorts/commercials blog? If that ain't gonna happen I may be up for it, but only if I received donations prior to its opening.


         
jdub, January 26, 2006 at 6:49:57 AM CET

I was thinking It could be really great to have an "interviews" category. Although I suppose that could go under each individual person's category. It would be great whenever an interview pops up somewhere on the web. Somebody could copy and paste it under a director's name. I currently have misc interviews from Fincher, Glazer, Cunningham, etc etc sitting on my Hard Drive.

I'm assuming there may be some sort of copyright issues with this but man, it'd be great.


         
progosk, January 26, 2006 at 9:09:46 AM CET

great idea, but as you say: careful with the copyright thing (the cunningham treatment that someone's already put up... where's that from...?) the solution's simple: link to it! f.ex: submarinechannel has an interview section, so do some of the other sites in the links section; cull the direct links, post'em to an interviews section (and also in each director's page). just... do it!


         
kevathens, January 27, 2006 at 11:11:17 PM CET

Server Update: I've called my host again, and they're going to look into my database and see if something specific is slowing the place down. They say they'll call back tonight with the result. In the meantime this weekend I'll have time to research a good host around these parts (haven't had time yet), and hopefully this problem will be solved by Monday. My apologies for the crap.

I'm holding off on sending press releases out until I feel comfortable with the server and the situation.

8| <--- mean face


         
progosk, January 29, 2006 at 5:03:31 PM CET

videoville outage...


         
kevathens, January 29, 2006 at 5:36:58 PM CET

all my stuff is down.. If my host can't help me resolve the MySQL lag during our next call, I'm outta there.


         
progosk, January 29, 2006 at 8:02:31 PM CET

403 on videoville. you up to something kev?


         
kevathens, January 29, 2006 at 8:29:25 PM CET

Not me, though both sites just flickered. I wonder if my host's SysAdmin is working on it.


         
progosk, January 29, 2006 at 8:33:58 PM CET

videoville's back now.


         
progosk, February 17, 2006 at 12:22:29 PM CET

vville outage...


         
kevathens, February 17, 2006 at 2:12:20 PM CET

Everything's out. I couldn't even dial in this morning, so something really bad happened. Maybe the storm we had last night.


         
kevathens, February 17, 2006 at 3:28:36 PM CET

Electricity's out in 1/4 of Athens. Woo-hoo!


         
kevathens, February 18, 2006 at 3:01:14 PM CET

Interwiki mapping from WikiPedia to Videoville is functioning. Check out Sledgehammer, or Death Cab's page, or Nature Anthem.


         
progosk, February 18, 2006 at 3:13:09 PM CET

erm... the links on the wikipedia pages don't work...


         
kevathens, February 18, 2006 at 3:20:56 PM CET

Technicalities. Weird, because I put the "index.php/$1" in the interwiki map at first, if my memory works. And now their Interwiki map page won't allow edits.. I'll work on this.. Anyway, we'll get there..


         
kevathens, February 18, 2006 at 3:30:38 PM CET

Gar! Looks like I didn't put in "index.php/$1" on Feb 3 after all. Oh well, it'll all get settled in a week or two (I would hope), and I'll re-add the Videoville entries to Sledge, etc. if they get deleted for being dead.


         
kevathens, May 11, 2006 at 1:36:19 PM CEST

VIDEOVILLE: I'm closing it for 2 days. The spam level just dramatically increased. Perhaps if it's gone for a while the spambot will stop trying. I doubt it, though. I'll be looking for a resolution to the problem in the meantime.


         
kevathens, May 15, 2006 at 1:15:12 AM CEST

VIDEOVILLE: [from my blog post] For a site that doesn't have an established user community willing to maintain spam levels (many thanks to Progosk and Benroll for their help), this large load of spam threatens the existence of Videoville. (Dun dun DUNNN!!!) If that's to happen, I'll move the most important contents onto director-file.com - possibly onto the blog system to allow for comments.

I've looked into ways to combat wiki-spam, but I fear these management techniques will be easily thwarted, so I don't feel it's worth my time. I am fine with small intermittent doses, though, so we'll see where the shit lands.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
Tokyo! Sorry should have... robodrug; 02:18
Didn’t really like this... kevathens; 01:54
Where is that kevathens; 22:34
N/m found it kevathens; 22:29
Do you have XG... kevathens; 22:27
Japanese! LANA who I... robodrug; 17:24
Members of XG continue... robodrug; 16:42
The second video from... robodrug; 15:06
The first of two... robodrug; 15:00
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18

April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
March