videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

Beck - "Nausea" (Directors: Nigel Godrich, Autumn de Wilde, Beck Hansen, Patrick Daughters, Keith Megna, Brian Lotti, The Malloys)

Actually there are four videos for Beck's song "Nausea" (credits to Shots Ring Out for making the first two available):

  1. Nigel Godrich, Autumn de Wilde, and Beck Hansen
    information mov
  2. Patrick Daughters
    information
    more information mov
  3. Keith Megna

    information more information
    mov wmv
  4. Brian Lotti and the Malloys
    This one is not really a promo but the trailer for the "1st & Hope" skate video featuring Beck's songs. This post considered it a music video. mov

         
antdude, October 27, 2006 at 5:23:21 PM CEST

IGN.com servers give me: HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden


         
captainmarc22, October 27, 2006 at 6:56:16 PM CEST

mtv requires flash to read the news??

from what i can tell there's only one official video; the Patrick Daughters one.


         
kevathens, October 27, 2006 at 7:09:32 PM CEST

Their new site is really unfortunate. I can understand how they think they're onto something innovative, and from one perspective they are, but I visit the site now much, much less because I don't care to watch a bunch of ads and be plugged into some processor-stealing , auto-video-loading flash program.

Daughters' "Nausea" is playing on MTV, MTV2 and I think VH1 in America. Catch it while you can!


         
progosk, October 27, 2006 at 8:06:29 PM CEST

you forgot tracerpod's: www.youtube.com


         
kevathens, October 28, 2006 at 1:54:38 PM CEST

Nausea MOV! - keyzer posted the SRO MOV. Post an image too, will ya?


         
captainmarc22, October 28, 2006 at 10:33:11 PM CEST

re: Daughter's Nausea.

pretty awesome though i unfortunately read the description on SRO first. Spoilers! I prefer to let these things reveal themselves. Patrick Daughters has never been Mr. Storytelling and I'm wondering if/when I would have been able to get the concept.

Great visuals; and great hair, Beck.


         
ai, October 29, 2006 at 1:16:24 AM CEST

I didn't get it. I think he should have introduce the fake buildings sooner and show the backstage (people dressing up). I was confused by the strange dance and the weird look on people face.


         
radar71, October 29, 2006 at 2:16:25 PM CET

I really liked Patrick's one.. i think it may be my favorite of his. really cool.


         
progosk, October 29, 2006 at 11:07:09 PM CET

lotsa camus in daughters'. shame you had it spoiled for you cap, it's very striking on first watch. (you get it at second watch - which is perfect.) outstanding styling, photography & edit, i found. really pulled the track for me, too.


         
kevathens, October 29, 2006 at 11:48:13 PM CET

I'm a bit surprised with the positive response to Daughters' version. I've seen it on TV several times and have felt very underwhelmed. I'll keep watching, perhaps it's the MTV-to-crack formula that overwhelms my sensors. I must say the ending makes much more sense when it's not interrupted by titles and isn't followed by a 'SUCKER FREE SUNDAY' promo.


         
funtoosh, October 29, 2006 at 11:50:06 PM CET

prog is right, of course, beautiful atmosphere & photography on patrick daughters.


         
framescourer, October 30, 2006 at 10:05:09 AM CET

No, Daughters' didn't do it for me either (first or second time around). Maybe something got lost in the editing? A narrative link dropped from the chain?

Liked Malloys' Dogtown and Z-Beck though


         
kevathens, October 30, 2006 at 12:30:03 PM CET

..Saw it again, and yeah, this really feels like Moby's "Bodyrock" (v.3) to me: a somewhat awkward MTV-aimed video. (I don't blame 'em, just sayin')


         
otaku-house, October 30, 2006 at 4:34:46 PM CET

I don't mean to be disparaging to Patrick, as I have proclaimed much fondness for his work - still think 'Lightning Blue Eyes' is one of the best clips of the year. But I have to agree with kev on this one, this is my least favorite piece of his. It looks fantastic like all of his work, but I think there's a lack of clarity and tonally it's all over the map. I wonder too if the label interfered in the edit a lot, that's what it feels like to me.

I don't get the Camus references, either. Sartre is your Nausea guy.


         
progosk, October 30, 2006 at 4:50:23 PM CET
further reading: - Sartre and Camus: Nausea and Existentialist Humor - Camus & Sartre, Amitié et combat.
         
otaku-house, October 30, 2006 at 6:18:24 PM CET

After the Resistance movement there's a fairly delineated and serious philosophical schism between Camus and Sartre.

"No, I am not an existentialist. Sartre and I are always surprised to see our names linked...."

But yes I do get historically and as peers there's precedent. It's stupid of me to care so much but I always get twitchy when Camus gets lumped in with the Existential movement - it's a popular misconception and simplification that undermines Camus' work.


         
spit, October 30, 2006 at 7:20:14 PM CET

Daughter's version is kind of slow and drab, which is a shame cause the song is so dynamic and bouncy. Maybe this is a case of referencing important western philosophers and developing underlying existential themes at the expense of making a video that's actually fun to watch.The whole thing just feels like a really expensive senior project by a smart high school student.
I'm just sayin'.


         
hassinator, October 31, 2006 at 11:05:09 AM CET

lovin this - why does it have to make sense the first time you see it?

i like the fact that more detail is revealed through repeat viewings and its not just a one trick pony

its also best track from beck since black tambourine


         
shittypretzel, November 2, 2006 at 12:15:44 AM CET

I agree with spit. When I heard Nausea for first time it felt just right to make it rhytmic and bouncy in the video. Here, it's toooo easy-going. The idea of watching it more than once is great but sometimes I have a feeling that we don't understand the whole thing in the video 'cause it wasn't edited correctly, that's all. Beck has a little bit of bad luck with his current videos. Just a little bit.


         
spit, November 2, 2006 at 12:55:41 AM CET

Upon repeat viewings, I still am not feeling this. It's too self-consciously clever and I'm still sad that this video wasn't the colorful, fast-paced extravaganza that it should have been. A decent effort, but very unsatisfying.


         
framescourer, November 9, 2006 at 8:31:21 PM CET

Just seen the Megna Team America video. Descends into the inevitable slack-stringed chaos a bit early, probably for lack of other ideas. Fun until then though!
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18
Director: Flipevil robodrug; 00:14
Unbilled guest stars —... robodrug; 21:42
Coke Ad robodrug; 21:21
Wunderbar, danke! darjalena; 18:58
I didn’t realize how... kevathens; 21:22
Things like this made... kevathens; 21:20
A ‘deepfake’ AI thing kevathens; 22:26
www.instagram.com this also kevathens; 22:59
My super-fave kevathens; 21:31
Their stuff is super-#hot kevathens; 21:30
Hexstatic/Coldcut: videos.antville.org (2000) kevathens; 21:29
Video is iconic kevathens; 17:30
NTC's Ten solo robodrug; 22:18
nom for a musicvideo... kevathens; 00:30
275M, dir Greg et... kevathens; 00:23
Couldn’t sit through the... kevathens; 01:08
Holy crap: 163M hits... kevathens; 02:24
134M views since 2023,... kevathens; 02:13
You’ve made it! Youtube... kevathens; 01:01
1- Haven’t thought about... kevathens; 02:09
This is a multi-generational... kevathens; 00:48
Btw |a href=‘links’| is... kevathens; 22:12
I posted this cuz... kevathens; 21:49
..of herself I guess. kevathens; 21:47
I had to work... kevathens; 21:23

March 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31
February