videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

The Killers "Read My Mind" Dir. Diane Martel

music.clevver.com

Utube: www.youtube.com


         
otc, February 8, 2007 at 8:01:20 PM CET

It's good, but I wish Flowers would have left his colonel sanders suit and overblown stage theatrics at the door. It doesn't mesh with the tongue-in-cheek tone.


         
toddyokoh, February 8, 2007 at 9:18:16 PM CET

Great edit.


         
the avatar, February 8, 2007 at 11:59:23 PM CET

I dont know. This is one hell of a song, one of my favorities from this album. So i expected too much maybe.


         
boey, February 9, 2007 at 12:19:36 AM CET

This video seems like it is trying to let us "get to know the band" on some sort of a more intimate level as they embark on tom foolery around the city, but instead I feel more alienated from them as they akwardly try and act casual in these clearly contrived moments. I do like the song.


         
jgamble, February 9, 2007 at 11:40:24 AM CET

That guy doesn't blink.


         
daku, February 9, 2007 at 4:59:18 PM CET

videolink a bit complex? or am I the only one having trouble to get through...


         
daku, February 9, 2007 at 5:24:56 PM CET

got it now. well, its kind of sad: you are in japan and all you do is cycling, dancing with school kid and going to sleep with a green something? somehow not very interesting. sorry.


         
spit, February 9, 2007 at 8:17:09 PM CET

If the intent was to make the band more likable, I think they pulled it off. Had the low key absurdity of their highly underrated Anton Corbijn promo.


         
conrad74, February 9, 2007 at 8:59:19 PM CET

This is a pretty flacid try at something endearing. The lead singer looks like a total prat and there is something very forced about the whole scenario. Certainly in terms of editorial they should have waited to introduce the band before having the lead singer start gesticulating like that. The song is actually pleasant if overly repetative, but the plastic antics and the shove-it-down-your-throat sentimentality is all quite stupid and uncreative. We have seen the Beatles-Meet-The-World shtick all too many times. It all seems quite overwrought in the end and the edit feels quite forced.

I actually posted a very similar review on another site, but I figure I'd get more interesting discussion here.


         
shut up, February 11, 2007 at 5:06:12 PM CET

I thought it was sweet and worked nicely for the song, it reminds me of beatles videos back in the day. Plus Diane Martel is the best!


         
hexagon, February 12, 2007 at 6:57:15 PM CET

green something? clearly a dinosaur....


         
lilsheedy, February 12, 2007 at 10:22:19 PM CET

I don't care about the band but really enjoy the video. It's nice to see a more absurd video like this aimed at the TRL crowd.


         
dmartel, February 13, 2007 at 7:45:13 AM CET

interesting to read this stuff... i would like to see conrad74s reel


         
vs, February 13, 2007 at 9:18:44 AM CET

DING!


         
conrad74, February 13, 2007 at 10:30:08 PM CET

As far as I can tell the discussion on this site is not dependent on a reel Ms. Martel. If thats the best you can do to defend your work, I do not feel any compulsion to take back my statements. While I do not know your work well, I will go try and find your reel someplace and become more acquainted. I hope it is, on the whole better than this.


         
conrad74, February 13, 2007 at 10:42:25 PM CET

Ok, done. Love the Olu Dara video.

And what seems like dMartel's older work has some great raw energy. But I stand right by my estimation of this promo. Derivative and uninteresting.

You have surely done better. I wonder if you will recapture that old energy?


         
spit, February 13, 2007 at 10:56:58 PM CET

Holy wow, could an uninformed film student sound any more retarded?


         
conrad74, February 13, 2007 at 11:11:55 PM CET

Neither a film student nor monumentally uninformed nor retarded. Well, perhaps I am mildly retarded. I certainly wouldn't be able to tell. While having heard of 'Diane Martel' before I was not all that familiar with her work. I can now see why as it is not in genres I naturally pay attention to.


         
dmartel, February 14, 2007 at 3:18:59 AM CET

what do u do exactly ? for a living i mean, and what are some of your hobbies ?


         
lilsheedy, February 14, 2007 at 3:36:57 AM CET

I'm kinda surprised you've never heard of Diane Martel before. I guess some people need The Director's Label to tell them which directors are "good". Watch her Franz Feridnand, Goldfrapp, Method Man, NERD and Ciara and you can see how great her range is. It's a shame R&B/hip hop are genres you've deemed unworthy of your attention. Hopefully, she'll do work with more caucasian bands (Prussian Blue perhaps) soon.


         
conrad74, February 14, 2007 at 8:02:01 PM CET

First, I think it is interesting that Diane Martel is contributing to this and all she is saying is "what is your reel" and "what are your hobbies." Comical.

I am also interested in what appears to be a blatant accusation of racism.


         
xstackx, February 14, 2007 at 8:09:27 PM CET

Conrad74, I think you're wrong. Why would you post multiple comments to multiple websites about a video you don't like? What DO you do? Do you make videos? I only ask because you seem to have a lot of opinions about how they should be made.


         
spit, February 14, 2007 at 9:21:36 PM CET

{edited} The green monster is funny lookin' {edited}


         
progosk, February 14, 2007 at 10:30:17 PM CET

erm... lest we're all to brace for another meltdown, have a drink folks and, uh, let it rain & clear it out.

conran's looking for a little attention? looks like he got plenny. he doesn't like this vid (tho he does like others). so, what else is new?

spitz: i'm surprised you let yourself be riled so. true: there hasn't been much of a real pile-on round these parts for ages, but you're trying just a little too hard to bring it on. ("tiresome about this site"? don't egg conny into a rôle that befits neither of ye.)

di: my 2 kopecks: it's a quirky vid, it's alright, but others of yours have been more fun. don't let some 'viller drag ye down.


         
lusk81, February 14, 2007 at 10:56:26 PM CET

...To extrapolate even more, the biggest problem is not so much that conrad does not have a reel comparable to martel's (or something to show at all), it's that he has NO logical reasoning for why "This is a pretty flacid try at something endearing" (the beatles comment is so far off the mark it's retarded).

So he, like many anonymous bloggers, can run their mouth in unsubstantiated ways. But again, not because of a lack of comparable work, but a lack of rational thought and considerable opinion. You would never see a film review that read "hack" or "this sucks" or "this really wishes it was as cool as ____" and take it seriously. I'm unsure why we do here...

[update] SPIT: You had some good thoughts there, why the edit? I hope progosk didn't shake you down!?

P, it's on my friend. I'm already en route to Roma.


         
dmartel, February 14, 2007 at 11:11:46 PM CET

happy valentines day conrad, you seem like a dear lovely man maybe we can co direct a video. once again i ask- what are your hobbies ? and more importantly what is your sign ? i am a taurus


         
vs, February 15, 2007 at 12:10:40 AM CET

is anyone else getting a huge crush on DM because of this thread?


         
kevathens, February 15, 2007 at 1:01:53 AM CET

It's a funny thread, really. I'm not sure what should be added here. Check the other other dangerous threads.


         
conrad74, February 15, 2007 at 4:53:59 PM CET

I suppose I ought to come clean. I have relatively little to do with the music video business. While I am visiting a friend who does, he has shown me, in an attempt to explain how he keeps up with all of the product, a few sites which stage promos. After reading what I wrote on another site (as a lark, but I really didn't like the video) he mentioned I ought to post something here which, he thought, has a much more robust conversation on the issue.
I also commented on another promo or two.

I really did not think my comments would attract so much attention. I guess I let my inner critic get the better of me, pehaps mean spirited, but nothing personal.

If I offended feelings and dragged up unfortunate emotions I apologize. Again, nothing personal, but is opinion not why this site exists?

My sign is Virgo, Diane. I would have hoped you might respond with some sort of explanation as to some of your inspiration or some other such but instead this seems to have turned into a referendum on outsiders, much to your make. It is too bad that you could not put up a more cogent defense.

As far as a reel, I work in stage and film, albeit not in commercials or music promotionals. I really do like some of your staged music videos, they are well choreographed and beautifuly photographed, while this particular attempt strays from that and not to great effect. I would have rackoned I am entitled to my opinion and entitled to post it here in this forum. Apparently to some, my lack of promo pedigree seems to be a point of contention. That is unfortunate.

The most disturbing thing is to see that one commentator accused another commentator of racism without any kind of general outcry.


         
kevathens, February 15, 2007 at 5:06:59 PM CET

We've done the racism thing, conrad. Please do check up on Antville's history.

I'm thinking of making this antville's theme song.


         
dmartel, February 15, 2007 at 7:34:05 PM CET

virgo, hmmmm


         
hiscores, February 15, 2007 at 8:57:35 PM CET

diane martel i love u


         
trans_alt, February 15, 2007 at 9:48:36 PM CET

conrad74 - diane martel has been doing this successfully longer than anyone on this site. she certaintly doesn't have to explain her decisions to someone that knows nothing about music videos. she's paid her dues, show some respect. welcome to the biggies.


         
bdiddy, March 25, 2007 at 4:12:42 PM CEST

i actually liked this video. i dont even really listen to the killers but i found that the video made the band seemed more human, more personable.

besides that, i love Diane Martel's work. From the gritty, gully vids she did for Method Man back in the day to NERD 'rockstar' video (I LOVE THAT VID),the Alicia Keys vid, even the Samantha Ronson was as well. Her style is raw. I like.


         
bdiddy, March 25, 2007 at 4:18:20 PM CEST

does anyone know how to get in contact with her?

i would love to be a P.A for one of her shoots.

As a 22 old female aspring video director myself, I would LOVE to work with a female director. I work with some prominent male directors right now, but Im kind of sick of looking at greasy titties and rented shiny vehicles all day.


         
kevathens, March 25, 2007 at 4:30:22 PM CEST

bdiddy: You may want to try contacting DNA. (Btw this Killers vid is up on that site, great quality, flash only.)

I like this vid a lot too. Diane's a really good director, I agree. spit kind of nailed it with the Corbijn reference. This kind of vid seems to be their strong suit for the moment.


         
trans_alt, March 25, 2007 at 4:49:14 PM CEST

bdiddy: Diane Martel and DNA have recently parted ways. Keep an eye on videostatic, she'll pop up somewhere soon.


         
bdiddy, March 25, 2007 at 6:06:43 PM CEST

Really? Samantha Ronson actually advised me to check with DNA (which I have) but to no avail.

oh well.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
…and reposted kevathens; 20:51
She’s like Sade: sweet,... kevathens; 02:22
From PetaPixel, on TikTok:... kevathens; 21:32
Tis the season (for... kevathens; 20:50
The return of the... kevathens; 20:45
It’s nice that’s about... kevathens; 01:21
Big Trouble in K-Pop... robodrug; 03:25
Tokyo! Sorry should have... robodrug; 02:18
Didn’t really like this... kevathens; 01:54
Where is that kevathens; 22:34
N/m found it kevathens; 22:29
Do you have XG... kevathens; 22:27
Japanese! LANA who I... robodrug; 17:24
Members of XG continue... robodrug; 16:42
The second video from... robodrug; 15:06
The first of two... robodrug; 15:00
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43

May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
April