videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

The Black Ryder - "Sweet Come Down" (Directed by Michael Spiccia)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sbLjM2NloaI

Sweet Come Down - taken from The Black Ryder's debut album "Buy the ticket, take the ride". Released through The Anti Machine Machine / EMI Music.

Harmonica by Peter Hayes (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club)

Director Michael Spiccia Producer Michael Spiccia DOP Stefan Duscio Steadicam Andrew AJ Johnson Production Manager/1st AD Adam Wareham Executive Producer Craig Deeker Editor Mark Burnett Colourist Marcus Timpson Make-up - Trista Fawkes - Rogers VFX Justin Bromley


         
woodyallen, October 22, 2009 at 7:23:50 AM CEST

Wow! This is beautifully crafted! So cinematic. Its cold blooded and foreboding, and I want to know what has happened, and what is going to happen next.


         
lashtape, October 22, 2009 at 7:24:02 AM CEST

Really liked the understated approach. Quite sinister and well paced. Thought some of the steadicam was a bit off, and reminded me a little of No Country for old men. But overall really beautiful. Great track.


         
parmezan, October 22, 2009 at 7:49:42 AM CEST

The feature will be out soon, it's called "No Originality For Old Men"


         
kansas, October 22, 2009 at 8:02:33 AM CEST

Hilarious! The above comment should go into a 'videos antville best comments of the decade' poll.

PS woodyallen is the director of the video.


         
senilitynow, October 22, 2009 at 8:06:59 AM CEST

i was gonna say, nobody on antville talks like woodyallen. we're all much more pedestrian.

as for the video, it's not bad, just one dimensional & artificial.


         
woodyallen, October 22, 2009 at 8:33:41 AM CEST

Geez, I have never met the director, Im just a fan of the band. as for me logging in with the name WoodyAllen, it wasnt anything i thought you even think about, let a lone bother to comment on..


         
kansas, October 22, 2009 at 9:03:57 AM CEST

@ woodyallen. There are a few discrepancies I have with your claim. Firstly why did you remove the kurosawa comparison from your first comment. Oh and also the bit that said 'when is the feature film coming out?' Secondly what sort of Kurosawa devotee could be bothered exclaiming the cinematic wonders of a completely unoriginal music video on a music video blog. Thirdly fans of the bands hardly ever comment on videos here unless they are directors or some how connected to the industry or have an avid interest in music videos. Also if they do comment I doubt they stick around or recheck the post to see if anyone else has commented and then re-edit their first comment in order to justify their second comment. Maybe take note of the Kim Greenway 'General Pants' post as an example of how not to react when spotted hyping up your own video.


         
vedgal, October 22, 2009 at 10:17:22 AM CEST

Damn, what's with the haters. Not much love on the ville'. I can see the 'No Country' reference but I actually thought this was pretty good.

Its tone, timing and overall execution was class. Well suited to the track.


         
captainhairy, October 22, 2009 at 10:23:22 AM CEST

haha. woodyallen is def the director. and i suspect lashtape might be also (with the bad steadicam comment in there to make it sound less obvious).

Regardless, i thought this was really good. No need to fake hype it up. It can stand alone proudly.


         
vidbot, October 22, 2009 at 10:32:15 AM CEST

So strange, speaking of... "people who are the director or friends with them, stooging video posts" ...I went looking for the repost of Spiccia's video for Bob Evans "Don't You Think It's Time" and its seems to have disappeared!

I wonder where it went.......


         
woodyallen, October 22, 2009 at 10:56:13 AM CEST

Ok, i cant believe i am getting sucked into debating with you nerds, but here goes again; putting Kurosawa in my comment was an obvious joke, its what all pretend film buffs say, do u not have any sense of humor, and i am sure a real film maker would never say such things, and would have much better things to do with their time. also if i want to edit my own posts i will, it means Fck'all. there is no way i can win this pointless exchange and you will go on saying i am who you think i am, you are like those conspiracy theorists who can connect unrelated facts to 'prove' any wild theory you have come up with. stop the hate, get a grip.


         
my name is legion, October 22, 2009 at 11:01:23 AM CEST

now that you mentioned film buffs,

fleshbot.com


         
vidbot, October 22, 2009 at 11:06:02 AM CEST

I think this thread needs a soundtrack

www.youtube.com


         
my name is legion, October 22, 2009 at 11:13:50 AM CEST

together with some character development and background story:


         
saddy, October 22, 2009 at 11:34:08 AM CEST

I liked it until I saw sunglasses.


         
kansas, October 22, 2009 at 11:42:55 AM CEST

Hilarious, I thought to myself if woodyallen posts again that proves the point that woodyallen is micheal spiccia. Man you must be intellectually handicapped to get sucked in by my last post.

PS your video is not bad, just pretentious, obvious and unoriginal which probably explains your idiotic comments which have only succeeded in fucking your credibility in the ass. You should have just posted and waited for others to comment.

PPS Even if by some miracle your not the director and just 'a random fan of the band' you have again fucked the director in the ass by being such a douchebag. Good one!

PPPS You were not joking about Kurosawa. Hilarious again. I dare you to post the original comment again and lets see if everyone else here thinks its a joke.

Afterthought: Wait a second are you saying you are poking fun at the cinematic and feature film prospects of the video as well as throwing in a 'hilarious' Kurosawa comment? What sort of 'fan' of the band pokes fun at their videos?

... Ok, let me give you some advice... never switch your career from director to lawyer. You would suck.


         
sharpiesharpesharpe, October 22, 2009 at 12:07:24 PM CEST

i wont make a comment on the video, but I've really like the dp Stefan Duscio's work lately... definitely an Australian to watch out for


         
vidbot, October 22, 2009 at 12:17:48 PM CEST

Just watched his reel and I completely agree with you, the china stuff is amazing.

He just needs to stop slumming it with hacks for cash.


         
Wankersmurf, October 22, 2009 at 1:26:50 PM CEST

Wow - it sucks to be Michael Spiccia or Kris Moyes when Vidbot and the hater posse are around. Wonder what would happen if their names weren't on the video. Or maybe they need to make things a littlemore fun to match the might of a certain other australian band's videos that starts with a P and ends with a NAU.

I posted this video cause i liked it. I am friends with the director (biased) and think he did a good job with what he had. Nice sombre tone, cinematic long shot, and beautiful with no money. No its not revolutionary but it works well. Acting could be a little better, but hey they are a band right?


         
parmezan, October 22, 2009 at 2:09:07 PM CEST

I'm not sure exactly how Kris Moyes would feel being put in that equation with you Michael.

I'm confused... what do Pnau or James Littlemore have do with this? Don't you two share the same roster?


         
Wankersmurf, October 22, 2009 at 2:26:10 PM CEST

Sure seems like anyone who says anything nice about the video is actually Michael Spiccia. I smell conspiracy!!! SHUT THE DOORS!!! BAR THE WINDOWS!!! Someone light a fire.... We'll smoke this rat out........


         
kansas, October 22, 2009 at 2:59:19 PM CEST

So wankersmurf, lashtape and woodyallen are all the director (Micheal Spiccia).

Firstly comparing their collective selves to Kurosawa and alluding to the fact that they should be directing a feature film.

Then when spotted for hyping up their own video claiming they are just a fan of the band and altering their first comment.

Then when cornered claiming that their first comment was actually a hilarious sarcastic joke making fun of the video... even though they are actually big fans of the band.

Then to top it off dropping an actual well known Australian directors name (Kris Moyes) alongside their own to make like the equally credible and well known Spiccia name is the only reason this video has received less than stupendous acclamation of its misunderstood genius.

Moyes and Spiccia in the same boat? I don't think so. Moyes sailing the open seas in a 35foot yacht and Spiccia desperately trying to keep his deflating life raft afloat in a shit filled river is probably a more accurate comparison.

This comment stream is extremely entertaining.


         
Wankersmurf, October 22, 2009 at 3:23:10 PM CEST

I'm enjoying it too.

But playing three (although saddy looks like he could be convinced to be one of spich's multiple personalities) people over a few hours is pretty tiring.

And to clarify, i wasn't comparing Spiccia and Moyes (or putting them on the titanic together) - i was saying that a certain someone (actually i saw two) has it in for their videos whenever they get posted. Seems like you could post a Chris Cunningham video with their name on it and this person would ripe them apart.

Wait wait wait... Kansas, Vidbot, and parmezan - you all saying the same thing!.... are you actually the same person? Makes equal sense as your belligerent hypothesis. Perhaps there are only two people talking - Spiccia and you.


         
thefilmdirectormichaelspiccia, October 22, 2009 at 3:32:07 PM CEST


         
parmezan, October 22, 2009 at 3:40:38 PM CEST


         
benreed, October 22, 2009 at 3:51:05 PM CEST

I liked this video; it complemented the track nicely, it was short and sweet and looked pretty. I imagine if director/woodyallen whoever (or whatevers going on here) hadn't made a faux pas, it/they/he wouldn't be slammed so hard.


         
Wankersmurf, October 22, 2009 at 3:52:29 PM CEST

YOU'RE MICHAEL SPICCIA TOOOOOO!!!!


         
msm, October 22, 2009 at 4:02:52 PM CEST
MICHAEL SPICCIA...
         
thefilmdirectormichaelspiccia, October 22, 2009 at 4:07:02 PM CEST

What a great music video! Amazing, it reminds me of going to the cinema!


         
quixoticnyc, October 22, 2009 at 5:38:23 PM CEST

Nice little video. Great look. Certainly inspired by No Country and quite frankly there is nothing wrong with being inspired.

This site is filled with douch bags and needs a moderator - really bad. I rarely participate anymore because it's just no fun with so many rude people.


         
NickyGoose, October 22, 2009 at 8:01:30 PM CEST

I'm a director. Not Michael Spiccia though.

I didn't even watch the video but was attracted to all the angry posts on the right side of the homepage. I agree with @Quixoticnyc, definitely some creeps with vendettas 'round these parts.

But hey, that's part of the game right? The directors direct, and the creeps creep.

...and then some directors pose as said creeps.

Vicious cycle my brothers. Good luck.


         
m_spiccia, October 23, 2009 at 2:56:38 AM CEST

Well, this is quite a response.

It was a friend of mine who posted the video – but I don’t think he thought it would get this sort of comeback. Even I'm surprised it provoked such an entertaining reaction. It's amazing what can happen in a day, didn't think I was away that long.

This video was lucky to be made at all: remote location, no budget, and cursed by freaky weather. We only had 45 minutes to rehearse between the incessant torrential downpours - getting only 4 takes before dark. I was surprised we managed to get even these. Luckily we were able to stitch 2 takes together in post to make it work.

It was some of the harshest conditions I've ever worked in. It’s a credit to the band that we got anything at all; withstanding the subzero wind-chill in only singlets against the icy ground. Although the cold and rain were really hard on the band, showing in the lead singers performance, we where lucky to get a good useable performance take at all.

The whole clip was made on a shoestring of $AUS 1500, funded by the band and I. It was a labor of love, based on our friendship and reaction to such a great song. As crazy and impossible as the conditions were, we had a great time making it and am thankful we got a video.

I'm surprised by the response it’s gotten here. It's great to have a forum where we can all share our work. If you don’t like someone’s particular job – fair enough – but it’s a shame that what could be open discussion gets spoiled with petty bickering. I suppose haters will be haters and that's the way the world works.

I do find it kinda amusing yet odd that people would think that I'm posting under multiple names. Isn’t the point of the video being posted in the first place to get other opinions and make a constructive discussion? That said, I can see the humor of the thread and did laugh reading it (especially the Spartacus post). I hope a productive conversation will keep on after this with varied and interesting opinions. Hopefully it means people will watch the clip, maybe even enjoy it.

Cheers, Michael.

p.s. As for Littlemore, I’m not sure how he came into this, but he and I have worked together on many occasions when I first started out. He is an amazing editor and great at what he does. I honestly wish him all the best in what he is doing and his future.


         
post-anon, October 23, 2009 at 5:33:29 AM CEST

Such a strong reaction - though its hard to tell if some of them are a response to the clip or an attack on the director generally ...

I can appreciate that the clip was a labour of love and it is a great song, but I'm so distracted by all the commentary I almost forgot to watch it.

Regardless, either way I think it is a beautiful and an evocative piece of work. I like the minimalism of the thing and its beautifully photographed - its refreshing not to have to be sold on all the answers.


         
pancho, October 23, 2009 at 5:40:18 AM CEST

I don't care about the comments or who's whose mother. I liked the video. Yes the Coen Brothers called and they want their truck back. But honestly I didn't even think of No Country for Old Men when I saw the video. I was just watching it for what it was. I think you got lucky with the weather. The mud really added to the ambience. Your video is an inspiration for what can be achieved on limited budgets. Yes it might not be the most original of all videos... but I think it just needs an extra spark of personality to put it over the top. Good job.


         
spencefilms, October 23, 2009 at 9:48:14 AM CEST

I think the fact that i post on here semi frequently and that my handle links to my own work proves that I am not Michael Spiccia, also he seems to be Australian and I've never been there and ive never met the man. With that out of the way I quite enjoyed this video. It may have taken the basic "CONCEIT" of OCFOM but i would NOT say it ripped it off. He expunded on the idea and made it his own as well as using it as the framework for an interesting device using a fresh perspective (ON THE FEET). You may be able t have an idea, but that doesnt mean you can execute it, videos in themselves are more than their narratives (if they even have one). I feel Micheal executed an idea well, even if the idea itself took inspiration from elsewhere.


         
kansas, October 23, 2009 at 10:19:24 AM CEST

Sorry but this is all bullshit. The supposed actual comment from 'Spiccia' is even more lame than the ones by his pseudonyms. Most music videos are low budget in Australia and thus a labor of love.

Also the video is just OK, but nothing special and as stated unoriginal. With all the hipster dead kids in sunglasses and trendy outfits it reminds me of a pretentious jeans ad. I am not a hater just dont like this video and find the directors self masturbation by pseudonym and actual name disgustingly egotistical.
Goodluck with that 'labor of love'.


         
saddy, October 23, 2009 at 2:30:55 PM CEST

I only come to antville for the comments.


         
budget, October 23, 2009 at 6:28:02 PM CEST

Wow, beating the living hell out of a no budget video is not worth anyone's time. If you took the amount of energy that goes into policing a message board and put it into something worthwhile, the world would be a better place.


         
leocelo, October 24, 2009 at 1:47:18 AM CEST

wow. this message board reminds me why i visited message boards years ago and then never returned.

a few desperate people ruining boards by being vicious and inflammatory. no one would ever speak like this at a film festival forum.

the paranoid kansas troll is particularly hateful and disgusting and seems to get off on all this.

en.wikipedia.org

what a massive waste of energy.


         
ha3e, October 24, 2009 at 2:53:38 AM CEST

^ couldn't agree more. His/her pathetic persistence is embarrassing. Antville desperately needs a moderator.

I thought the video did what it needed to do. The idea works and is beautifully shot. It's a green tick from me. Next.


         
macmuffin, October 24, 2009 at 3:02:40 AM CEST

Yo, Kansas needs some serious psychological counseling for his lame Trollness, as do many of the other jealous, failed, coulda been a director, whack jobs on this blog.


         
kansas, October 24, 2009 at 4:27:31 AM CEST

I'll keep the spirit of the thread alive by stating that 'leocelo' and 'ha3e' are Spiccia too.

As for these other 2 comments. Budget comments on this site just as much as i do and from what i have seen equally dislikes and likes videos on the same ratio that i do. Macmuffin how do you know who i am? I could be spike jonze for all you know. How do you even know i am a he? All i can say is atleast i stick to my guns about what i like and what i don't like unlike some here who because they have no discerning taste can only give everyone who makes a video a little pat on the back.

Nobody bats an eyelid when I give appreciation and thumbs up to videos i do like on this site but as soon as anyone says something critical a bunch of 'jealous, failed, coulda been a director, whack jobs' cry out horrified, probably because their work sucks just as much as the video being criticized.


         
macmuffin, October 24, 2009 at 4:50:35 AM CEST

Who said I like the video, it's not very original, I'll give that. I just don't like you and I would love so badly to see your work Kansas. I hope this thread goes on forever until you melt down far beyond the bitter little Troll that you have made yourself into on Antville. Your not sticking to your guns, Trolls don't have guns, you're in meltdown Kansas. You are a sad bitter little Troll who coulda been a real human and coulda learned how to have a respectful, intelligent discussion about silly music videos, but you failed dude/dudette. P.S, You soooo wish you were Spike Jonze but alas you're not, you are a Troll who works at a mini-mart in Kansas, daydreaming of making movies that others might praise. LOL you lose, and I suppose I do as well, because I told myself I would never feed a Troll. I hope you are full now.


         
kansas, October 24, 2009 at 6:21:50 AM CEST

Hilarious! Just the response I expected from the person I imagine you to be. Good one, you really just 'lost' the argument for yourself. You still have no idea who I am and what I do but I have a sneaking suspicion that the imagination that has sprouted a highly typical image of me is fed by your own personal experiences. This same less than mediocre imagination must come up with some super original ideas for whatever you do.

PS I never said anything extremely bad about the video all i ever did was point out that the director and his friends were disgustingly hyping up the video.

PPS i must have struck home with that last comment for you to go to all the trouble to respond in such an obviously aggressive and derogatory way. Jumping to all sorts of conclusions, spitting names and accusations like a cornered 'troll'.

I don't dislike you I pity you.


         
familiar, October 24, 2009 at 6:43:25 AM CEST

I'll echo leocelo.


         
otc, October 24, 2009 at 7:35:21 AM CEST

For those keeping score Kansas is a she and also claims to be a foreign exchange student. It's also a safe bet that she's not Spike Jonze and has probably never made a real music video. Oh and Kansas, in my opinion you are by far the worst commenter on this site. You bring nothing to the table. You seem to have no empathy for other human beings. You don't even post videos you just shit on them. Please stop commenting.


         
macmuffin, October 24, 2009 at 9:00:25 AM CEST


         
kansas, October 24, 2009 at 9:42:18 AM CEST

Weird seems to be a lot of hate directed towards someone who simply pointed out that the director was hyping his own video. Especially considering quite a few people agreed with me.

By far the most hate i see here is not from me but from people like otc and macmuffin who seem to explode when someone disagrees with their sense of taste. As otc has kindly offered the link for those keeping score you will notice that his first comment on that thread starts with him exploding into 'Fuck off Kansas' simply because i wasn't at all impressed by something that he liked. If you bothered to actually look you would see that i have given praise in comments to videos I like as equally as I have shat on videos I don't like.

You guys just seem to freak out and start calling me names when I don't agree with you. I actually don't see what you guys are offering up to the table or what empathy or intelligence you are showing. In my opinion all you are giving is safe little comments from your own safe little sense of taste or offering blind rage when you cant see past your own nose.

Maybe i should start calling you guys names, perhaps I will pick Winnie the pooh and Hitler. That would make a good combo dont you think? Hold on I will just go scour youtube and post accompanying links for the names...


         
my name is legion, October 24, 2009 at 9:54:58 AM CEST

what's with this hatred? mr jesus christ is crying! i suggest you made sweet love to one another. or - i don't know - you could all take turns making sweet love to kansas. and familiar.


         
macguffin, October 24, 2009 at 10:02:14 AM CEST

@ macmuffin If you're gonna start a stupid argument don't hide behind a fake screen name.

Or is that the whole point of this comments thread? You guys are so meta.


         
beefvolcano, October 24, 2009 at 2:01:26 PM CEST

The ol' otc vs. familiar vs. kansas rumble

Personally I don't agree with the calls for censorship on here and for people to simply act nice. I've noticed that antville can indeed turn into a place where people clock in to give each other back rubs after they complete a hard days work in music video.

There's nothing wrong with passionate critical discussion within the community, and I think it's what the music video community lacks at times. There is so much work out there that sometimes the good pieces get lost in all the garbage.

There was a clear faux pas by the director which sparked all this, numerous people picked up on it, though the guilty parties seem to have edited their original posts.


         
sharpiesharpesharpe, October 24, 2009 at 3:37:07 PM CEST

the99percent.com


         
familiar, October 24, 2009 at 7:38:11 PM CEST

I didn't remember that other Kansas post. Usernames don't mean much to me on here these days. So many of the voices just sound the same.


         
spencefilms, October 24, 2009 at 8:43:01 PM CEST

Kansas and Budget are the same person


         
kansas, October 25, 2009 at 4:36:01 AM CET

The problem with that 99 percent theory is that you are presuming that everyone is on the same page and has the same objective. For example I for one am not going to offer Michael Bay any encouraging criticism for Transformers 2. Are you?


         
Wankersmurf, October 25, 2009 at 7:52:12 AM CET

But, by that same token - if Michael Bay directed Seven or There Will Be Blood or Rosemary's Baby (or some other great film), it seems you would criticize it just because his name was attached.

I'm not saying this video is anywhere near those great films, rather it seems you have it in for the director not for the project. Later on you did try to substantiate your specific criticism but it was in the spirit of spite, not discussion.

I don't think Spich wrote that comment. If you know him then you would know he would be too shy to. But if you have it in for directors (or writers or producers or artists or mechanics or....) who pretend to be someone else and then say their work is great, maybe you are on the wrong site, hell maybe you are in the wrong universe. Voice your opinion and get on with it. Anonymity makes it too easy for people to bitch and compliment without retaliation - and even if they are not doing this it makes it too easy for you to dilute an argument with petty jibes.

What you are doing does come across as trolling - whether you think it or not. Its because you aren't constructive or considered, rather bitter and spiteful. These aren't traits that will get your point heard - they are traits that will stop people from listening to you at all. Perhaps you don't care. I'm just saying - put yourself in the director's shoes. You have made something you are proud of, good or bad, you are happy with it. You ask someone to put it up, wanting your peers to see what you have worked for. And some troll like you cuts it to shreds just cause your name was on it. I might be making it more black and white than it is - but there is an element of truth to what i am writing - isn't there? Wouldn't you rather a frank and open discussion about what you have or have not achieved - perhaps learn from the experience?


         
kansas, October 25, 2009 at 9:44:06 AM CET

If you bother to look all i did in my first comment is agree with someone elses funny and negative criticism then I added that the first comment was by the director. Did you see that first comment before it was edited? Before it was edited after i called them out? Then did you see the comment where he said he was just a fan of the band and then later that he was actually making fun of the band. Does this make sense to you? If this isnt the director then it was a friend of the director LIKE YOU! The director asked you to put up the video? Too shy? Too shy to write on a blog? Yet confident enough to direct a video in the harshest conditions imaginable with no money? His 'real' comment is still basically saying look at my brilliance even under these circumstances? Constructive or considered? What have you considered? I dont think your objectively considering anything? Merely defending your 'friend'!!! Transformers 2 sucks and not because Micheal Bay directed it. This video sucks!!! If any number of directors I liked had directed it I would think the same thing. I don't know Spiccia, he may be a nice guy but this video represents everything I despise about videos.... ie unoriginal and pretentious. A commercial masquerading as indie cool. Surely you can see that? See the truth to what I am saying??? What I am pissed about at the moment is how I have been made the scapegoat for a shit video. There are others that are not impressed by it!!!! Look at the top of the comments. Fuck did you even see what msm commented??? Did you scroll your mouse over that picture????

Are you blind? Or admittedly biased?

PS Mr Jesus Christ is crying.


         
my name is legion, October 25, 2009 at 11:40:07 AM CET

he weeps like there's no tomorrow thats what he does

he enjoyed the video, but he didn't like it when the director started to post under different pseudonyms, like, because it reminded him of legion and his cohort of demons.


         
maverick36, October 25, 2009 at 12:18:49 PM CET

kansas. I pity you. You need Jesus' love more than anyone else on this blog... buddy. You're obviously a frustrated director.

You probably own the entire Director's Label DVD set, scrutinizing and getting hard over the work of Cunningham and Glazer and Gondry and Jonze and Romenek all the while thinking that you're just as good, if not better than all of them - if only you were given a chance, a real budget, or someone who believed in you.

It infuriates you that someone had a few rolls of 35mm and a pocketful of change and a great D.P. and went out there and did it. For what it is, its a fucking great video. Yeah slightly pretentious because there's a bunch of musicians in it playing roles we could never believe them in - and we all know most musicians take themselves far too seriously... And i'll admit, its a little too early to be homaging No Country... but who gives a fuck.

You my friend, need to get over yourself, and your opinion, and go pick up a camera. These videos aren't meant to be scrutinized this much. It's probably what the band wanted, definitely what the director wanted and if you don't like it... shove it up your arse. No one cares about your little witch-hunt against unoriginality. The truth is, there's nothing new under the sun, and you are the biggest cliche' of them all: The talentless hack with an opinion.


         
kansas, October 25, 2009 at 2:11:52 PM CET

Again, another comment about me... with wild accusations and guesses about who they think I am.

Heres a thought maybe what prompts complete strangers to sign in with new pseudonyms is because my opinions against pretentiousness and unoriginality really, really scares some people who know deep down they have nothing original or useful to offer and are as pretentious as the comments they write. Is their only reaction to this fear uncontrollable anger?

It's very interesting how aggressive these comments against me are. If you really didn't care or what I was saying didn't strike a raw nerve of self doubt why would you bother commenting in such an obtusely aggressive way.

It's either that or you are the DOP or friend of the DOP of this video which is why the only other comment you have posted on this site happens to be for another video you recently shot.

Weird how that video is also by an unknown director for an unknown band and although not a bad video is quite unworthy of being the only other video you leave such a long winded comment for. This comment whilst obviously declaring the genius of the video tries to keep it realistic by saying that one or two things didn't quite get there. It's a pity if this is true because the cinematography is quite good. If it is you maybe take vidbot's advice in his second comment at the top of this thread.

Also what is quite strange about your comment is bringing the directors label dvd's into your argument against originality. Strange how most of those directors are known for their unique styles and ideas. They don't seem to be well known or praised for making pretentious hipster homages to obviously current films. Or are they?

BUT maybe like that first comment in this thread we should compare Spiccia's masterpiece to Kurosawa's work?

PS Jesus does love me. We hung out just the other day and he said to me: 'Kansas, you know I am tired of music video directors breaking the ten commandments.' I shrugged my shoulders and said 'Oh yes they are well known for stealing.' His brow furrowed and he replied 'Do they? That's horrible... but what I am mostly concerned about is all the bearing of false witness and the worshipping of false idols.'


         
senilitynow, October 25, 2009 at 3:44:32 PM CET

i'd say "classic post" if these comments weren't so lame.


         
budget, October 25, 2009 at 6:25:14 PM CET

Quizmaster and Kansas: The same person?

videos.antville.org


         
kansas, October 26, 2009 at 1:14:05 AM CET

I only have one pseudonym thanks.


         
maverick36, October 26, 2009 at 6:34:38 AM CET

hahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha... oh, Kansas.... you crack me up. I wish we could have a beer and some pretzels man... I wish I could sit down and really get to know you brother. You seem like such an entertaining chap.

And I bet you could really educate me about what good work really IS in the music video world... because you must have been there when it all began, right? You were THERE at the birth of MTV. You were.

You saw the entire integration of experimental filmmaking, and video art and the post-modernization of ideas. you must have been there when someone first said... "Let's make this video like Grease 2..." and you were probably the one who said, "no", that's not original. That's crap" And in the 90's you were there too, when 2Pac ripped off Mad Max and you probably said "no, you can't do that either." And you told David LaChapelle that "Dirrty" was too much like Fight Club.

And they really must have listened to you man. You, the God of opinion and originality. You must have gifted Spike Jonze with your "ten commandments of Music Videos", oh wait... shit... he homaged everything from cheap early 70's cop shows to 1950's B-movie serials and Japanese monster movies. So no. You couldn't have influenced him.

So while we're eating pretzels and drinking beer, I really would love to hear what these "Ten Commandments of Music Videos" are... So maybe I can follow them in my own work, because I've homaged (and blatantly ripped off) everything from Fight Club to Blade Runner to The Seventh fucking Seal.

And no, I'm not the fucking DP. Cause if you knew anything about filmmaking you'd know that the other video I commented on (my second comment since joining this blog yesterday after I saw this little war that was going on) you'd see that both pieces were shot in a completely different style, in completely different countries.

So when you've actually graduated that film school course you're doing (self-taught or otherwise) then come back here and say something truly insightful. Otherwise, let's grab that beer and you can fill me in on what it means to be original in music videos.


         
kansas, October 26, 2009 at 7:49:26 AM CET

Many holes in your argument.

The first cavernous hole is that it lists Stefan Duscio as the DOP for the video on this post and Stefan Duscio as the DOP for the video on the Vimeo page link of the other post. Seems clear to me unless there are two DOP's named Stefan Duscio? This is a prime example of a little thing I like to refer to as research. Possibly you should try it. Could really help lift your game in both film making and debating.

The rest in point form:

  • I said I generally didn't like "hipster homages to films released last year". I did not say that referencing films from 20 years ago disturbed me. Infact in my JOKE about jesus I said every music video director steals and 'shrugged my shoulders'. Referencing or creating a homage to 70's cop shows or old B grade japanese movies or even blade runner, fight club and the seventh seal is completely different to doing a homage to something that came out last year. Although I would recommend you do some more research and find a few less obvious references than the ones you have mentioned.

  • I did not make up a special ten commandments for music videos , I simply REFERENCED the actual ten commandments. Some more research for you there. Also that was a JOKE.

  • I still think your the DOP and if your not the DOP you are definitely involved with one of these videos why else would someone sign in with a new name and simply go straight to these two quite unworthy videos and then continue to argue with me. Self promotion?

  • In regard to the previous point: With your obviously superior world view on music videos and superior film making knowledge I find it strange that you felt that the Miami Horror Video was so worthy of praise. Can you please explain that one?

So to finish can you start your next comment with 'hahahaha' because that really hurt me deep inside and made you look tremendously superior to everyone else on this site.

PS These pretzels are making me thirsty.


         
maverick36, October 26, 2009 at 8:36:49 AM CET

I'll give you the DP thing. I did overlook the fact both clips were shot by the same dude and will admit that is evidence of my own ignorance. BUT you are still acting like a jerk with a superiority complex. And yes, I used obvious references because like you, I love making broad unintelligible statements with little but artifice to back me up.

Why is referencing a movie that came out last year any different? Does a film have to age before you can reference it? I don't think this director is trying to hide behind the fact he probably drew inspiration from No Country From Old Men. Because you're referencing something thats no longer in the mainstream does that make you cool?

No I'm not the DP, but I did just check out his website and he's done some good work. And no one involved with the Ryder's clip is using fake names to post comments, I mean, what on earth do they have to gain from that? Spiccia is doing incredible work & most likely getting paid shitloads of money to do it -- why on earth would he waste his time with self-promotion? He doesn't need to do that.

I don't believe I have any superior knowledge of any sort. In fact, my whole point is that you're making too much of a big deal over something as superfluous as a music video. And slamming someone's work that obviously didn't cost a lot of money and suited the song. Who gives a fuck?

I didn't praise Miami Horror, I actually criticized it for creating a tension-filled setup and then resolving it with something so left of field that it diminished all that came before it. I did give it merit for its craft though. Because unlike you, I don't slag other people's work for the sake of it.

I think giving yourself head is what's making you thirsty.


         
kansas, October 26, 2009 at 9:06:42 AM CET

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha; oh, maverick36..... you big old beefcake you.

If i am acting like a jerk with a superiority complex than what the fuck are you doing? Riddle me that batman?

Oh my god your whole argument about referencing is so ridiculous. I am not against referencing. Just hipster homage references to recent obvious films. YES in my book that is not only uncool, but boring and sloppy. YES BORING! Spiccia is not adding anything to the reference except for the sexy well styled hipsters he has cast. What else is getting you excited about this besides the execution? Execution, any old house builder can craft a well built and functional home for the average family but that does not mean i stand back and praise his genius as an architect. Do you?

This statement right here says you know the director or are a fan or are a director who does similarly uninspired work.

'No I'm not the DP, but I did just check out his website and he's done some good work. And no one involved with the Ryder's clip is using fake names to post comments, I mean, what on earth do they have to gain from that? Spiccia is doing incredible work & most likely getting paid shitloads of money to do it -- why on earth would he waste his time with self-promotion? He doesn't need to do that.'

As i said earlier I never did slam the work to begin with, I have just been dragged in as the scapegoat by people like you who have to defend the work at all costs.

Sorry I have to laugh again... hahahahahahahahaha Miami horror.... tension filled setup.... hahahaha That video is not bad but certainly not good and I am not about to start another argument over the merits of that one. But what the fuck are you talking about with tension filled setup? What tension... two teenage hipsters frolicking on a beach? Oh yeah tension galore and when she found that ancient freshly polished guitar pick necklace i was all like wow, mysterious.

Oh jesus please save me.


         
my name is legion, October 26, 2009 at 9:23:47 AM CET

         
t-boner, October 26, 2009 at 10:16:18 AM CET

i can't believe that people get so worked up on an internet blog. and to write so much shit, and spend time doing it. i pity all the spare time you have to spend here when you really could be making your own videos that we could all comment on. but that would never happen....as my father used to say "you bang on an empty jar it makes more noise than a full one"....


         
maverick36, October 26, 2009 at 10:34:06 AM CET

Jesus help all of us I reckon.


         
kansas, October 26, 2009 at 12:36:29 PM CET

We ARE saved...'I reckon'. Maverick36 is here to save us. He is here to defend against the tyranny of independent and original thought so that the boring and mediocre may prevail and blanket the world with a warm safety net of standardized entertainment.


         
my name is legion, October 26, 2009 at 1:23:37 PM CET

too much bloodshed you need to make peace with who you are


         
maverick36, October 26, 2009 at 3:02:09 PM CET

That's it Kansas! You're onto me!!! You've unveiled my little crusade. Long live mediocrity!

Still... I'd like to see your ass shoot a video like that for 1500 bucks. See, I think you're actually it's number one fan, since you've spent more time than anyone else on this blog debating about it.

And with that... I shall service your putrid little ego no longer. Live long and prosper my friend. Perhaps one day you will rise like yeast above the rest of us mediocre folk.


         
budget, October 26, 2009 at 5:55:14 PM CET

Maverick, there's no way you aren't Mike Spiccia, and if you aren't him, you should be embarrassed.

Kansas, there's no way you aren't a disgruntled film school kid, and if you aren't, you should be embarrassed.


         
kansas, October 27, 2009 at 12:24:45 AM CET

Oh yeah its definitely either Spiccia or Duscio.


         
sharpiesharpesharpe, October 27, 2009 at 2:25:22 AM CET

www.thepunch.com.au


         
leocelo, October 27, 2009 at 4:48:01 AM CET

great article! did you see this video that was posted?

www.collegehumor.com


         
wildswan, October 27, 2009 at 5:06:05 PM CET

that was great. loved it. please mike Spiccia, shoot and post and comment a new video asap...


         
Wankersmurf, October 29, 2009 at 11:51:45 PM CET

I came back all excited to see if anyone had posted anything interesting. Juuuust boring bickering. COME ON, SOMEBODY TAKE OFF THE GLOVES!!!


         
maverick36, October 30, 2009 at 4:44:35 AM CET

Kansas must have discovered his penis.


         
kansas, October 30, 2009 at 5:07:39 AM CET

Maverick36 must have discovered that naming himself after tom cruise's call sign in Topgun was so original that 35 other people on this site alone had already claimed it.

PS did you discover your asshole yet or are you too busy breaking the sound barrier and playing beach volleyball with no shirt on?
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18
Director: Flipevil robodrug; 00:14
Unbilled guest stars —... robodrug; 21:42
Coke Ad robodrug; 21:21
Wunderbar, danke! darjalena; 18:58
I didn’t realize how... kevathens; 21:22
Things like this made... kevathens; 21:20
A ‘deepfake’ AI thing kevathens; 22:26
www.instagram.com this also kevathens; 22:59
My super-fave kevathens; 21:31
Their stuff is super-#hot kevathens; 21:30

April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
March