videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

Boards of Canada Deyvan Cowboy on lords of dogtown footage

Alternative clip for Boards of Canada's latest beauty: "Deyvan cowboy", imagery taken from Peralta's definitive docu on the history of skateboarding, "Dogtown and Z-boys". Another Boemtjak vjamm, visit www.boemtjak.be for more. www.youtube.com


         
sneakergimp, August 1, 2006 at 2:21:38 AM CEST

Fair due's to the vid, but the 1st half of the original video sends shivers down my spine everytime I see it!

Some good edits, but they need to tune up on there after effects keyframes.

post no.2


         
vidbot, August 1, 2006 at 7:08:17 AM CEST

Mmmmm nah! Not for me sorry the original is just way to strong. The thing I like, No love about BOC is that they are a singular entity musically that can exist almost in a vacuum and up until the original clip for this track had no real need for supporting visuals. The original video is gorgeous and just enough, no more no less for the track. This I’m afraid is getting into the dangerous territory of association, im no big skater I have done some time on the plank but nothing flashy and certainly nothing Lords of Dogtown style but this just doesn’t feel right to me. Don’t get me wrong im not trying to bag skating but I think boards is above this kind of thing and shouldn’t be associated with it unless the artists themselves are into it. Boards of Canada’s music to me is about freedom of thought, their tracks are 70's summer daydreams where you can drift off into the irrational anytime you like in any direction you like without needing to worry about what you are wearing. The iconography of skating and especially skate videos has a very particular cool factor that in part comes from the sport itself and in part from the massive Skate products, fashion, promotions machine that surrounds it. Maybe I’m a snob but I would prefer if Boards weren’t associated with this kind of hipster Urban aesthetic to the point where they are wallpaper. To me Boards is certainly not hop on a board and drop in a halfpipe music, its sit in a field tripping and trying to visualize the inside of atoms music. Anyway thats just my nostalgic sentimental born in the 70's opinion, if you disagree, flame me.....suckah.


         
wowflow, August 1, 2006 at 2:03:13 PM CEST

you have a point , vidbot, but to a lot of people, skating was big part of their childhood life, not yours, so too bad you can't relate to it. And BOC's music has been used by tuns of amateur enthousiasts like us, and I'm pretty shure they don't mind at all. (An interview in a Dutch magazine gave me that impression)

And when you talk about hister urban aesthetic, well, Dogtown and Z-boys are way beyond, above, not even near all that. You obviously haven't seen the movie yet. Even for nonskaters or boarders, it's a prize winning must-see.

So yeah, the original clip is better. But for the rest of your comment... I'm sorry, but you just don't know what you're talking about, and you haven't got a clue what skating in those days was like. If you watched the clip with an open mind, maybe you would get an idea....


         
vidbot, August 1, 2006 at 2:34:36 PM CEST

Well I have actually watched Dogtown and really enjoyed it, and skating was also a part of my childhood. I have fond memories based in this kind of iconography not as I said to the dogtown extent but tangible and evocative memories all the same. I guess I was pushing my point a litte hard being a big fan of Boards and in light of your erudite comment's I will partially retract my own. I still have a phobia of the hype machine that is contempory skating, surely you can agree with me that it is ae a phenomenon that sucks up many different subcultures Graffiti, Music, Fashion, and homogenises them under one bland umbrella. I guess my comments relate to not wanting to see a maverick artist like boards get sucked into that vortex and sold back out as part of a "lifestyle" when the lifestyle if any they espouse is a free unrestricted one. Can you imagine boards playing on a Nike ad or somehow associated with someone like Mark Eko.? BBBLLEEUURGHHH!!!

I do have to ask though, what were you actually trying to acheive with this video apart from unite your obvious love of skating and boards of Canada.?


         
wowflow, August 1, 2006 at 5:39:03 PM CEST

I'm into vj'ing, and I had a lot of fun playing around with the dogtown footage on BoC-like music, so what you basically see is a live vj piece on the BoC track, edited here and there to make it a bit more spot-on. (the other comment about after effects keyframes is a bit strange, there is no after fx involved, only live fx by arkaos and some premiere editing). I want to achieve absolutely nothing with it, except from reliving my childhood skate memories on the best music available to do that.


         
mutant, October 5, 2006 at 2:24:41 AM CEST

i'd rather watch stacy and the other boys in the original movie.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
Made a splash in... kevathens; 01:19
This isn’t the version... kevathens; 01:48
ano is a former... robodrug; 23:58
Translation: ano ft. Rira... robodrug; 23:54
Think I prefer aespa... robodrug; 23:16
Very R&B! robodrug; 23:08
That's cool! People are... robodrug; 01:05
Washed Out Responds to... kevathens; 23:29
himmm I really only... robodrug; 19:38
Hong Kong robodrug; 18:12
Apparently all 24 members!... robodrug; 17:33
💚 tobi; 09:38
www.allkpop.com : HyunA confesses... kevathens; 02:38
Filmed at the Louvre kevathens; 02:28
Youth Lagoon Slams Washed... kevathens; 20:24
Absolutely top class kevathens; 01:07
This may also be... kevathens; 00:31
—BREAKTHROUGH VIDEO-- kevathens; 20:40
…and reposted kevathens; 20:51
She’s like Sade: sweet,... kevathens; 02:22
From PetaPixel, on TikTok:... kevathens; 21:32
Tis the season (for... kevathens; 20:50
The return of the... kevathens; 20:45
It’s nice that’s about... kevathens; 01:21
Big Trouble in K-Pop... robodrug; 03:25
Tokyo! Sorry should have... robodrug; 02:18
Didn’t really like this... kevathens; 01:54
Where is that kevathens; 22:34
N/m found it kevathens; 22:29
Do you have XG... kevathens; 22:27
Japanese! LANA who I... robodrug; 17:24
Members of XG continue... robodrug; 16:42
The second video from... robodrug; 15:06
The first of two... robodrug; 15:00
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13

May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
April