videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

New Jill Sobule video.

tagged wormseye

This video is a lot of fun. It's by the New York collective Wormseye.

www.wormseyefilms.com


         
ai, October 31, 2004 at 9:56:30 PM CET

Take no offense but i'm really tired of those cheap after effects promos videos. They all look the same and share no creativity. That's depressing. And i think in two days i'll found another reason to be more depressed. Winter syndrome i guess.


         
dyei2, October 31, 2004 at 11:22:10 PM CET

for once, i agree with ai..

the feel just bothers me, because i've seen it so much.

i just feel an anti-electronic revolution building..


         
langdonallger, November 1, 2004 at 12:39:29 AM CET

Yeah, her poor integration into the backround and her performance made the whole video painfully cheesy. Also this has been done way too too much as ai and dyei2 have said. The cardboard look might have been sort of nice I guess, but everything in this video was just uninteresting. If directors want to do things like this, they should just animate the entire thing. Wormseye is just as bad as tomorrow's brightest minds, or worse, meh.


         
colorbarred, November 1, 2004 at 5:22:36 AM CET

For a cheesy song, this is an amazing video. It's fun and creative. So what if the anti-electronic revolution is beginning? This has a really cool hand made feel to it I think.


         
lusk81, November 1, 2004 at 4:24:25 PM CET

My friend(s), what "anti-electronic revolution"?

And did you not see the video? The entire thing was made/compiled inside a computer.


         
dyei2, November 1, 2004 at 5:07:12 PM CET

lusk81, i feel a change in the winds here.. where everything looks more natural, or michel gondry special-effect-before-your-eyes revolution. its not in this video, but i heard someone say somewhere that "stop motion is the new after effects." i think thats hot.


         
langdonallger, November 1, 2004 at 10:53:19 PM CET

Hey blinky, you can call me joe, I enjoy your constant optimism. Yeah, I know. Tomorrow's brightest minds have given themselves a misleading name and have made nothing but, in my opinion, mediocre videos at best. Your link gives me the feeling that you are affiliated with them or at least like them. I can't judge them too harshly because I've only seen some of their work, not all, but what I have seen I've not been too pleased with. That deathcab for cutie video presents a somewhat interesting concept at first, but gets repetitive and just sort of uninteresting, I don't think that I finished watching it. Their donnas video basically has the same problem as this one, except a few members of the donnas are attractive at least, so that was nice. If you stripped away the lame discoloration all you have is a performance that isn't that really wasn't shot that well anyways. The blatantly cheesy elements like the panther, rainbow, and unicorn are supposed to be satirical I guess or something, but just come off as plain cheese. Their jet video I must admit that I kind of liked when I first saw it because I don't think that I was really paying attention so I sort of got this idea that what was happening was the effect of some hallucinogenic agent that maybe one of the band members had taken and I thought that that was a funny and different idea. But upon closer inspection, it was just random effects that weren't as great as I assumed. That had one video for this band "chromeo" or something like that, I don't think I disliked that one. I can't really remember, but I think I liked it for the most part. I'm just dissapointed that these guys (and/or girls, I don't know), who obviously rely heavily on visual effects, aren't using their skills in a more imaginative way. Wormseye only has four videos on their site and I've seen three, this one, and the two stellastar* ones. I don't really feel like watching any of them again so I'm not sure how accurate my memory will be. The stellastar* (forgive me if I forget the astrisk beyond this point) with the photos might have been alright if they'd stuck it out (I don't usually use expressions like that, but it seems to fit in this case) and actually stayed with the authentic poloroid developing thing, but you can tell halfway through they got sort of lazy and just went with their visual effects to make the photos look like they were developing on their own. This led to them using some photothing, multiple camera thing, I don't really know how to describe but I'm sure it wasn't that challenging to do, and wasn't that engaging either. The "my coco" video was this karaoke thing, right? Yeah, I don't really remember liking that, or I liked the song so I just watched it for that. I know this harsh criticism is going to come back to haunt me if I ever try film making, so I'm pretty scared of the future. I just know what I like and often times I can't describe things well. I was comparing these two collective directing teams in that they have the to potential to make nice things, but, I guess they don't try as hard as they should? They just know that they don't have to try, because nobody cares except people like us, sort of like the people who run the simpsons now.


         
captainmarc22, November 2, 2004 at 2:05:03 AM CET

Wormseye pitch to Jill Sobule:

"Basically, we're going to shoot you in front of a green screen. Then, using a computer, we're gonna add stupid shit flying around."


         
ournameismud, November 2, 2004 at 2:25:56 AM CET

Wow, Sobule sucks. I don't recall her performaing too badly in past clips (always a tiny bit wooden), but that has to be one of the worst video performances I've seen in a while. I can imagine the Wormseye team off camera, going crazy, keeping on trying new things to get her to perform.

Clip's not too bad. Wormseye seem like a best version of the American DV indierock clip thing which is so common on this site. (Example - videos.antville.org) It's a style that does little for me.

About Tomorrow's Brightest Minds binkystick. I think the clips are all very good, but a lot of them fall short of their potential. I think they often run out of steam.

For example, the Cold Hard Bitch clip. Starts, Coyote Ugly, seems ok, bam! band on pinball machine! Genius! Back to Coyote Ugly, hangs around a bit, bam! Charismatic drummer has hallucinations whilst pissing, and gives cheesy grin! Genius! Back to Coyote Ugly... oh her shirt is moving.... ok.... oh theres a really uninvolved performance on a jukebox.... ok.... back to Coyote Ugly.... and it's over. It felt like two minutes of genius video and two minutes of treading water.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
This isn’t the version... kevathens; 01:48
ano is a former... robodrug; 23:58
Translation: ano ft. Rira... robodrug; 23:54
Think I prefer aespa... robodrug; 23:16
Very R&B! robodrug; 23:08
That's cool! People are... robodrug; 01:05
Washed Out Responds to... kevathens; 23:29
himmm I really only... robodrug; 19:38
Hong Kong robodrug; 18:12
Apparently all 24 members!... robodrug; 17:33
đź’š tobi; 09:38
www.allkpop.com : HyunA confesses... kevathens; 02:38
Filmed at the Louvre kevathens; 02:28
Youth Lagoon Slams Washed... kevathens; 20:24
Absolutely top class kevathens; 01:07
This may also be... kevathens; 00:31
—BREAKTHROUGH VIDEO-- kevathens; 20:40
…and reposted kevathens; 20:51
She’s like Sade: sweet,... kevathens; 02:22
From PetaPixel, on TikTok:... kevathens; 21:32
Tis the season (for... kevathens; 20:50
The return of the... kevathens; 20:45
It’s nice that’s about... kevathens; 01:21
Big Trouble in K-Pop... robodrug; 03:25
Tokyo! Sorry should have... robodrug; 02:18
Didn’t really like this... kevathens; 01:54
Where is that kevathens; 22:34
N/m found it kevathens; 22:29
Do you have XG... kevathens; 22:27
Japanese! LANA who I... robodrug; 17:24
Members of XG continue... robodrug; 16:42
The second video from... robodrug; 15:06
The first of two... robodrug; 15:00
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28

May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
April