videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

"Clap your brains off" Music: NSM PSM, Directed by Frank Beltran

This video uses a mathematical formula based upon an image Escher did (The Print Gallery), known in these days as the "Droste Effect". This is my first videoclip as a Director, and it was made entirely using a Digital Reflex Camera, Canon's Mark III which captures up to 115 continuous pictures, at 10 fps. As this was really low budget video, it was made possible thanks to the help of lots and lots of friends. This video was "inspired" by the amazing pictures of Sebastian Perez Duarte (I mean that as an euphemism). I just wanted to add movement to those kind of images. All of the image process was made in my home computer, thank's to Pisco Bandito/Josh Sommers' tutorials, and Bill Hornes code. A friend of mine, Chema "The Mecatronic", helped me automate all of the process. This is the result of almost 6 months of work. Soon I'll post the making off, hope you enjoy it. This is the video of a band called "No Somos Machos Pero Somos Muchos" (NSM PSM) and they're about to release their first album. This is their first single "Clap your brains off" CHECK OUT THE MAKING OF at www.vimeo.com


"Clap Your Brains Off" Mexican Droste Videoclip from Frank Beltrán on Vimeo.

Macro: Format: image/jpeg, 400×267 pixels

Macro: Format: image/jpeg, 400×267 pixels


         
thinkmad, November 20, 2008 at 3:56:30 AM CET

something about it doesnt work for me. too scattered conceptually perhaps. I can appreciate the technical skill thought.. kudos.


         
kalstark, November 20, 2008 at 8:01:53 AM CET

I came on here to blast the poster for putting up so many images under a single post but then the video synopsis intrigued me and I watched the clip. It's pretty damn good. Solid work and I hope you get to do many more promos. Congrats on a job very well done!

K


         
moonman, November 20, 2008 at 7:24:48 PM CET

repost? or remake?


         
luk, November 20, 2008 at 8:02:59 PM CET

definitely not a repost! It's nice to see a high budget video beside a low budget video. I like this one here more. (the low one) - because its not .. "we learn that trick and now we are going driving you insane with this".


         
budget, November 20, 2008 at 8:13:26 PM CET

Wait, which one is the high budget one? Wouldn't be surprised if Clap Your Brains Off had more resources.


         
frankbeltran, November 21, 2008 at 12:08:29 AM CET

Hi guys, Im Frank and I made this video... You're right about posting so many images, I'll fix that. This is my first post here and didn't know how it worked here.

About the other comments, I'ts great you liked the video. I started working on this project since february 2008, and it took me 6 months to get it done for several reasons (mostly budget reasons). Was mostly done all with favours from my best friends.

And well just imagine that after almost 6 months, 2 days away from finishing editing at some friends office (cause I didn't have Final Cut at home), I saw an email from a friend, the girl from the red stripes, telling me "have you seen this??" and posting the link for the Wild Beast's video... I almost shit my pants!!! I knew people would maybe see my video as a remake, and I was not very happy about that. I saw the date of posting at vimeo and at youtube from the other video, and it was just uploaded the previous day. I'm 2 days away for finishing after several months and that happened. And promoted as the star video on vimeo!!! I didn't know even what vimeo was... Well, tough luck... I uploaded mine at vimeo, and youtube with a less than a week interval. I was not the firs on web, but well... I'm pretty happy with the results. The guy from which I learned the technique, Josh Sommers, was the one that helped out in the other project by advising and consulting. I really enjoy the transitions they made, and the continuous zoom, I had lots of problems making a smooth zoom. Anyone knew there were other people trying to make a video with the droste technique at once.

Hope you have the time to see the making of, I even enjoy it much more than the video sometimes. Best wishes, Frank


         
progosk, November 21, 2008 at 12:30:47 AM CET

having rewatched both recent droste's (i'd never made it all the way through oneinthree's...) i'm totally with luk. this is great stuff frank, and for a first video it's a phenomenal job. what i like is the way you play with all the elements in the video - makes it really fun to watch. the way you've kept it rough/spontaneous yet not shoddy is quite a special quality (that may be accidental, but it's something often tried and rarely attained). top marks (and welcome), señor beltrán!

ps: your ending could have been stronger (oddly enough a fault oneinthree's also shares). pps: totally enjoyed the making-of, which confirmed the vibe your video gives off. two other video directors kept popping into mind, one for the mad playful inventiveness, and one for the computer geekery. i won't spell them out, but: chapeau!


         
robodrug, November 21, 2008 at 2:14:12 AM CET

On the whole, think I prefer this, to t'Wild Beasts one


         
alexdecampi, November 21, 2008 at 2:23:12 AM CET

I liked this a lot - well done, Frank! I think this is miles better and more entertaining than the Wild Beasts video, which I didn't really enjoy (it felt too much like a one-trick pony; I got bored halfway through and stopped watching).


         
LukeAsa, November 21, 2008 at 4:53:03 AM CET

I dig it.

Technique is cool and works, w/ out inducing nausea (like the other video).

Outdoor footage could use some color correction...but every thing else looks stellar.

Well done.


         
daku, November 21, 2008 at 12:38:19 PM CET

incredible! great video, great friends, congratulations. curious what comes next...


         
oneinthree, November 21, 2008 at 2:01:37 PM CET

Frank's video is ace, we love it, and we think ours certainly had more money from Domino, but we also love that £5k GBP (with a ten day turnaround) is now considered a high budget music video.


         
hassinator, November 21, 2008 at 7:54:37 PM CET

killer vid fizzing with excellent ideas.

not sure about the record though : )


         
hipgnosist, November 22, 2008 at 2:38:28 AM CET

This is GREAT! I found it much more entertaining over all than the Wild Beast's clip, which is of course a single technique.

Your's has much more variety on the whole & I really liked the circular outdoor stuff at the end.


         
shatner, November 22, 2008 at 8:44:57 AM CET

6 months?

just goes to prove that you need either time or money to make a good video.

needless to say that most commissioned videos these days don't have either.


         
aariq, November 22, 2008 at 6:11:24 PM CET

Really cool idea, but I got bored with it about halfway through.


         
otc, January 11, 2009 at 8:46:43 PM CET

Congrats, you got a shout-out in a creative cow tutorial. (Watch the end).


         
talchronic, January 16, 2009 at 9:43:11 PM CET

yeah i got bored too, maybe its the songs fault? also, something about the song/video combination, it felt too safe. quicker cuts and tease the audience a bit. you got the visuals, you just need to flaunt them a bit more..

give me some visual attitude.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
Tokyo! Sorry should have... robodrug; 02:18
Didn’t really like this... kevathens; 01:54
Where is that kevathens; 22:34
N/m found it kevathens; 22:29
Do you have XG... kevathens; 22:27
Japanese! LANA who I... robodrug; 17:24
Members of XG continue... robodrug; 16:42
The second video from... robodrug; 15:06
The first of two... robodrug; 15:00
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18

April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
March