videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

la chapelle

tagged ART VIDEO

well known music vidz(aguillera,stefani,blink,grey,spears etc) but also great short films and commercials-best photographer of nwe generation (:P)-i love his works-have fun:D www.davidlachapelle.com


         
lusk81, November 17, 2004 at 11:11:19 PM CET

I don't know man. Chapelle's work is nothing more than high key lighting and wind machines. He's a fashion guy and tends to feel more famous/notable than the acts he's working with. Listen to him talk about the video concepts and you'll see he's completely devoid of any thought.

I don't know if anyone else agrees, but his work (save the timberlake/elton video) is barely watchable.


         
langdonallger, November 17, 2004 at 11:32:04 PM CET

I totally agree. He's all style.


         
binkystick, November 18, 2004 at 4:38:39 AM CET

However, he did make the only Dandy Warhols video worth watching.


         
angelasmith, November 18, 2004 at 9:07:54 PM CET

wrong, the video he did for Moby is amazing and shows he can go beyond fashion, also in my opinion the no doubt video he did is stylish but also a very good example of excellent effective film making


         
langdonallger, November 19, 2004 at 3:12:42 AM CET

Wow, a girl, that's pretty...different. Unless one of those other people are girls and they just have ambiguous names or something. But, the no doubt video, I thought that it was okay the first time I saw it, it has that vibrant mtv look to it. It looks nice I guess, I don't really get the ending. They all died, but they were all in collusion to get gwen stefani the death sentence? Um, it doesn't really make sense, nor is it an innovative idea or anything. I can't think of any sort of black widow type things off the top of my head, but I'm vaugely aware of their existence. So I wouldn't exactly call it excellent, effective filmmaking, maybe like, effective in the sense that some people bought that no doubt singles album (my mother included) but I mean, they were probably going to buy it anyway.


         
angelasmith, November 19, 2004 at 5:55:56 AM CET

I didn't mean it was excellent film making in the sence that it tells some story that satifies your need for beginning and end. I meant its excellent effective film making in that the scenes themselves are timed beatifully the camera work is very good, it pacing is good, it dosnt get boring. Its a good music video, and I guess my point is imagine, david lachapelle in my opinion is a good director in the way he can direct a crew and make somethign really solid, the camera, art, wardobe, post, its all really tight, and that is frankly really hard to do.


         
lusk81, November 19, 2004 at 6:14:46 AM CET

Stop kidding yourself. Lachapelle is not an "excellent effective filmmaker".

Grow up.


         
angelasmith, November 19, 2004 at 6:33:18 AM CET

grow up. who made you god, spending all your time wanking on a video message board. I actually direct film and from my experience looking at "the no doubt video" I can see he is in fact a good director, he is technically and visually very skilled I never called Lachapelle an excellent effective film maker, I said the no doubt video was well crafted. anyway Im sick of you boys expecting every video to be what, 'real film making', tell a story, for who? its a music video.


         
dyei2, November 19, 2004 at 6:51:55 AM CET

in my opinion he's either right on, or right off..

dandy warhols - last junkie - one of my favorite videos of all time. Showcasing a sugarcoated reality, when the sugar coating tastes like windex. It still sparkles! but its horrid.

elton video - conceptually his best work.

britney spears live from miami - that commercial's dark sinister attractive enviornment gets me everytime. The set design, the makeup, the sound design, the architecture.. stunning.

those are my favorites...

i think he's a successful motion glamour photographer. A brilliant fasion still photographer that just switched to a camera that takes more images per second.

most of the time it's photographed well... but just doesn't excite. Its perfect for the "people of MTV "material.


         
angelasmith, November 19, 2004 at 6:55:22 AM CET

yeah your right, except I dont like the dandy warhols video. I love the moby video, I think its one of my favorites of all time, those shots moving down the hall with the monitors showing the sunsets shot from a car. love that shit.


         
captainmarc22, November 19, 2004 at 7:05:42 AM CET

Angela I agree there's a bit too much elitist everything-mainstream-sucks trashing BUT I can't stand it when people say "it's just a music video" - like the people that say editing music videos is easy "cause you just cut on the beat" or the directors I've known who come up with lame ideas and then confide "I know it's not great, but it's not like it really matters, it's just a music video."

It is a genre that has rules; but we've seen what amazing work can come out of it - work that would never get made any other way -

Lachapelle, who is primarily a fashion/celeb photographer, is really suited to do pop-superstar videos - and I think he's great - his stuff is NEVER boring and he's easily one of the best pop directors (maybe second to Francis Lawrence).


         
dyei2, November 19, 2004 at 7:08:16 AM CET

boo yah - aye captain. well said.


         
angelasmith, November 19, 2004 at 7:20:38 AM CET

yes captain agreed. And I share your sentiments,I definately dont mean "its just a music video" I mean it is a music video... its a video for the music. What I really hate is when directors use/think of videos only as a vehicle to get them to where "they really want to be", "working on my feature", and they always end up making something that is a wank for them and dosn't suit the song and is not a good music video. I love videos. Beleive me.


         
pressrecord, August 12, 2005 at 7:54:40 AM CEST

flip-flop. flip-flop...

his videos and artist / music choices all suck. and, angela, by the way you slam music videos then try to cover it up, as well as your taste in directors, i probably wouldn't like anything you direct(ed) either. sorry. i don't know what the hell you're talking about.

chappelle's videos are wank.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
Tokyo! Sorry should have... robodrug; 02:18
Didn’t really like this... kevathens; 01:54
Where is that kevathens; 22:34
N/m found it kevathens; 22:29
Do you have XG... kevathens; 22:27
Japanese! LANA who I... robodrug; 17:24
Members of XG continue... robodrug; 16:42
The second video from... robodrug; 15:06
The first of two... robodrug; 15:00
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18

April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
March