videos.antville.org
sign up and post links to cool music videos
 

My first video would like some feedback!

tagged JoshuaRule

art.squadstudios.com

It's about 29mb encoded with flash. Sorry but I haven't got the funds for Sorenson Squeeze yet. If there is another way please let me know.

If it stops in the middle refresh and it should load more.

shot with a gl1 and the band and some friends as crew.

It's my first attempt at a full music video and I am pretty stoked about how it turned out.


         
ournameismud, December 21, 2004 at 3:18:18 AM CET

loading it now...

most editing programs will do a basic export to quicktime (or if not, win media), what did you edit with? cause really, flash for video is pure Nazi evil.


         
ournameismud, December 21, 2004 at 3:50:48 AM CET

art.squadstudios.com for the right clickers amongst us...

good work. well shot and graded (it only rarely displays its dv origins, at this size at least), and with pretty decent band performance (though the lead singer sometimes looks a little distracted).

excellent stuff. now take your skills and make something really distinctive.


         
joshuarule, December 21, 2004 at 5:46:17 AM CET

The singer was probably distracted cause he was directing the video. Also performance isn't my strong point where as getting others to do what I want is.

I only have premiere to edit with...i have tried exporting with sorenson codec...i just kept getting some huge file sizes...and I got a bit frustrated and out of time the other night...But if there are some settings you recommend do tell.

For my next video I am looking at doing something more original than a performance video. I just wanted to make sure I could create something solid within a short amount of time. I believe I did that.

Thanks for the comments!


         
captainmarc22, December 21, 2004 at 7:08:08 AM CET

just get on some file sharing networks and download Media Cleaner. Software never EVER requires funds - just an Internet connection and some patience. When you get big and start your own company, then you can pay for it.


         
shaftdiggy, December 21, 2004 at 7:08:31 AM CET

I thought your video was really good...what did you use to light your set?


         
joshuarule, December 21, 2004 at 8:02:17 AM CET

I have turned the corner on cracked software...I am no longer using it. It sucks at times but I feel better about it. Same thing with mp3's. I threw them all away. But i understand where you are coming from...

I used a few lowell spot lights and one of those 10 dollar work lights. I used a few bounce cards every now and then when it was just a bit too bright or to add a hint of fill...the main focus of the style was to create fast falloff and lots of contrast...and just try to be creative with using lights. We hooked them up to some power strips and had a few friends turn them on and off to the beat of the song.


         
ournameismud, December 21, 2004 at 9:11:00 AM CET

i know what you mean about getting large mov files out of premiere, not sure why it does that, especially after you give it a bitrate that should only take up a quarter of the file size it outputs... i'm sure there has to be a way though, i'll have a play.

I'm a big sorenson fan, media cleaner never worked very well for me. and for mpeg, mainconcept is good. mainconcept is also the mpeg encoder built-in to premiere, and always does a suprisingly nice job for dvd files.

software piracy is an interesting one. it's kind of assumed among many no-budget filmmakers, though i'm sometimes quite staggered to see how much pirated software gets used by people who should know better, like post-production houses.


         
killakillafornia, December 21, 2004 at 3:17:20 PM CET

good pacing. videos with only the band playing can get old, but yours stays pretty consistent and entertaining, the pacing is well done. you tell the "story" in the cuts. well done! i wish i could say my first attempt was as good.


         
joshuarule, December 21, 2004 at 8:09:45 PM CET

thanks man.

That's pretty much exactly what I was going for this time.

I think it keeps energy because the shots are never really the same due to the backgrounds moving and different shadows and light positions...and then at the bridge of the song I change locations and there is alot more energy. It worked.
















 

Hiya stranger, login to post links to music videos.

You can subscribe to this site as RSS or on twitter.

Made with Antville


Recent comments:
Jaspanese! LANA who I... robodrug; 17:24
Members of XG continue... robodrug; 16:42
The second video from... robodrug; 15:06
The first of two... robodrug; 15:00
MV hit a kind... kevathens; 00:12
They didn’t bury the... kevathens; 00:47
Tanu marks her last... kevathens; 02:39
lame shit, please leave... orpheus; 00:28
Great, thx for posting. orpheus; 00:27
Not quite AI (yet)... kevathens; 23:52
Hype shows again why... kevathens; 18:53
Sexy view count :) kevathens; 16:20
Fixed kevathens; 16:17
Maybe in your country?... bubo; 14:08
bubo: "Video unavailable --... antdude; 08:02
I still love this... bubo; 09:28
"HARTS is the real... kevathens; 03:53
rollingstone.com kevathens; 03:14
This video is more... robodrug; 22:41
From Birmingham England robodrug; 19:13
Looks like LA got... robodrug; 19:28
Another missed one "MACARONI... robodrug; 05:58
One I missed, "Monster... robodrug; 05:40
More Hybe! ILLIT seem... robodrug; 04:56
She’s got a long... kevathens; 02:28
Rare Euro-classical (not real... kevathens; 02:27
Needed kevathens; 21:13
Kept it classy -imprssd- kevathens; 21:11
From Red Velvet robodrug; 16:41
Other nominees- “Boyfriend" – Usher... kevathens; 00:31
I was thinking CHUNG... kevathens; 01:17
Good to see you... robodrug; 21:46
kevathens; 21:14
cool :) robodrug; 16:36
Lol kevathens; 02:32
Yins?! See you! antdude; 20:57
AI/deep fake type kevathens; 22:08
Alex da Corte already... kevathens; 00:43
Filmed at the Charles... kevathens; 00:41
So delightful, Digipedi ❤️ kevathens; 19:43
This is the third... robodrug; 02:47
Dark video! Many fans... robodrug; 02:34
Balming Tiger located in... robodrug; 01:47
👍🏻 kevathens; 23:22
Nice one! kevathens; 23:18
Director: Flipevil robodrug; 00:14
Unbilled guest stars —... robodrug; 21:42
Coke Ad robodrug; 21:21
Wunderbar, danke! darjalena; 18:58
I didn’t realize how... kevathens; 21:22

April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
March